Svartifoss


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » East
November 10th 2009
Published: December 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I was pulled out form the bed at 8:30am every morning and the first thing to do is to make breakfast for everyone, basically I used the left over soup, pasta and fish cakes from the night before and re-heat'em and topped with fried eggs and bacon, before we continuted our way 80km towards west to Skaftafell National Park via Highway No.1.

We parked our car outisde the tourist centre, then hiked 45 minutes and brought us to the mouth of Svartifoss Waterfall, something I've been really excited about seeing since I started planning to go Iceland. According to Lonely Planet, the water flows from the world's 3rd largest icecap and flows into the Arctic Ocean, south of Iceland.

The weather was clear and sunny as we arrive, and the waterfall itself was amazingly beautiful and breathtaking, probably the most beautiful waterfall I have ever seen.

Next to Svartifoss, only 30 minutes drive, is Vatnajokull Glacier, and this is where the piece of melting glacier flows to Svartifoss, and everywhere throughout the south. You can freely enter to the glacier by walking or climbing, but again, according to Lonely Planet, it is not safe to walk in, 2 German disappeared few years ago.

I love Iceland really much, it is such a lovely country, for a place with very few trees, few people, few cars, and no snakes, all the people I have met are all extremely friendly and nice to tourists. They all seem to be very happy that you have come to visit their country, even thou the whole financial syetem within the country has collapsed earlier.

On our way home, we spent a night in Reykjavik before we drive to Keflavik Airport at 4am, the airport was empty beside the huge queue in front of the 3 open counters for all European departures, this is so funny because the same thing happened last year when I came, there are about 30 counters, but always just 3 to 4 are open, but I trust Icelanders, they are always effiicient like German.

Onboard Icelandair and on our way to Hong Kong, first out of 3 leg was from Keflavik to Oslo, before the second leg of Oslo to Bangkok and Hong Kong, I was so hungry after waking up at 4, returning our car at 6 and rushing for our flight at 7, so I decided to grab a little bite to eat on the flight, unlike Cathay Pacific, this airlines does not have free food, and the breakfast costs 11 Euro, so I asked an old Air Hostress lady if they take British Pounds coz I wanna spend all my Pounds and they do take, end up I paid only 5 Pounds, (Icelander Maths???) , 5 Quid absolutely not bad at all. Shortly after we headed to the another Thai flight gate and away we were on our last leg to Bangkok and Hong Kong.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 65; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb