East Fjords


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » East » Seydisfjördur
June 28th 2018
Published: July 19th 2018
Edit Blog Post

My drive through the East Fjords was fairly unexciting...and grey, given more rainy weather. There are some fishing villages, one of which is known for a lady's astounding rock collection and another of which features a fairly large and somewhat random piece of artwork based on the eggs of Iceland's different birds. I ended up in a town called Seydisfjordur which was a great surprise - you drive into it over the cross of a glacial mountain pass, and it sits in the bottom of a huge fjord with a 'waterfall alley' - it was little, still with an active fishing industry, but full of random art (that somehow appealed to me more than the bird eggs). I loved it, the sun came out (literally), and I did one of my favorite hikes of the trip across the top of the fjord.


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The avalanche barrier trail (I think it has a real name...starts with a B and is based on the mountain...but I can't remember it)The avalanche barrier trail (I think it has a real name...starts with a B and is based on the mountain...but I can't remember it)
The avalanche barrier trail (I think it has a real name...starts with a B and is based on the mountain...but I can't remember it)

A lot of towns in Iceland have huge avalanche barriers above them - my plan was to hike to the ones above Seydisfjordur...although the trail was still snowed in at the end so I didn't quite make it to the barriers.


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 21; qc: 67; dbt: 0.065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb