LIVE FROM THE TRAIN TO BUDAPEST


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary
May 2nd 2013
Published: May 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

This my first live blog, we are on the Railjet from Vienna to Budapest. While we were wating for the train I met a couple form Washington DC, they were also headed to Budapest. Talked mostly about Portland with them, they love it there (of course who doesn't). We didn't have time to have breakfast before leaving for the train so we brought some pastry at the station.

I want to assure everyone that we are having a great time. Since I don't read my own blogs until we get home, I often don't know how they are coming across, so your comments are always appreciated to let me know if I am doing a good job.

Vienna Wrap up

Again, this city deserves much more than 2 and half days. A week and you wouldn't even scratch the service. It is a lovely city and some I guess compare it to Portland, but I don't think that is a good comparison. I would suggest staying in a hotel, unless you speak fluent German. The aprartment was inexpensive and a good location, it was a bit difficult to find things and make the reservations, although we did manage. The other thing about this aparment that is was pretty close, or a close as I tend to get, to camping. It was tiny, and not very clean. Jerry in fact re-washed any dish before we used it.

Schonbrunn Palace was the highlight for me, the overall Archeticture was the highlight for Jerry. The food was great. This is a city that will be repeated and we will spend much more time here, perhaps combine it with a trip to Munich.

Vienna is also an very easy city to get around in. You can easily walk most places and the mass transit it easy to tranfer between the underground, the tram or the bus. There is just so much to see and do here. Vienna is truly a must see for any traveler, music lover, archeticture lover or history buff.

We will be back.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.533s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1788s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb