Eger


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Northern Hungary » Eger
February 28th 2009
Published: February 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I was thinking of heading to Eger as a day trip from Budapest but I ended up making it a stop while going from Kosice to Budapest. I got the 9 something train and got off at Fusesabony where I got the train to Eger. However, I had to sit tight at the station when I missed not one but two trains to Eger. Basically the first one left 3 minutes after I got off my train and the other was totally my fault for assuming that the track would be the same as the previous one - I saw my train pull in and pull out....while I had my mittens performing a skit (I was that bored). Story of my life, really. Thank goodness that the trains are hourly.

Got there and negotiated a train ticket with the nice lady behind the counter. Took a loooong ass time but she gave me an under 26 discount 😊 headed into downtown Eger (there's a very convenient map near the counter) and took in the sights. It's not too big but it was really nice and the castle was one of the better ones I've visited so far - the views of the town and sunset were amazing!

Got the train back to Fusesabony then to Budapest.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb