Quick update from Hungary


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Transdanubia » Lake Balaton
July 31st 2009
Published: July 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi guys,
I know it has not been long since the last update but as we have free wifi I thought I would offer an update.
Well after Vicky left we finally left Brataslavia and went to Vienna again (so Scott can see it sober!). We ate grasshoppers - no we are not on that tight a budget just thought it would be fun to try them at an aussie bar!.

After that we travelled along the Danube valley ( a bit like the Rhine but not as steap and not as busy). It is lovely apricot growing country and it was picking season. We stopped at an old guy and I picked up 4 and in jibber jabber he told me 1 euro. I paid left then thought shit that was expensive!!!. We stopped further along as hey were that good and I wanted to see how much I had been ripped off!. Well the next guy had better sign language and I got half a kilo for 1 Euro! that will teach me.

We drove down to he Hungary boarder - we had been told it was still in use so Scott got his passport out in hope ............... not a thing!. We stopped at a place call Sopron, in the lonely planet it is called the "little Prague" bull it was rubbish we we carried on to Gyro and that was lovely. We got asked for ID for a 26p glass of wine!. and it was good wine - but the beer was more expensive at nearly £1 for a bottle of Becks (scott is on the wine now!).

After that we headed down to lake Balaton where we are now. It is the costa del sol for the Hungarians. We were going to to move on today but we got talking to an english guy that mentioned some shooting in a wood. So this morning after Scott got over his hangover (he got back from the English guys at 4am after a bottle of Brandy) we headed off with this guy and I got to shoot a revolver, 9mm semi automatic pistol, .22 rifle, air gun (with a kangeroo target) and a shot gun. I was fricking awsome! loved it.

Well that is us so far. About to get eaten by mozzies so I think I will go and drink some more wine (that is not all we do you know!).

Hope all is well. Keep the gossip coming I love to hear from you guys too!!!!

xxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



4th August 2009

where the hell is the bone church??!!
7th August 2009

Yes All you seem to do is drink
Every line involves alcohol of some kind,not like you at all. hope your Dad had a great time with you, thanks for the postcard. Just got back from llorett like Blackpool in the Sun, Where we Stayed Fenals was nice, Wouldnt recommed to visit on your travels, unless you want some tackyness to remmind you of home. Nice Sunshine though and luc-george enjoyed been in sea.
12th September 2009

Sorry
Hi Harminder. Hope everything is going well at school. Sorry it has taken me so long to answer. Your name has been mentioned almost every day "have you answered Harminder?" "god I didnt answer Harminder again!". However the church with all the bones is in Chech Rep in a place called Kunta Hora. Funny little place. Hope this helps. Say Hi to everyone for me. Has Chris got this link do you know? xxx

Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb