Heading to Budapest


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
July 13th 2017
Published: July 20th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Afternoon in downtown Pest


View from our hotel roomView from our hotel roomView from our hotel room

We stated at The Three Corners Hotel Art on Királyi Pál u. Nice hotel, no tea/coffee in the room but they had a lounge area with free hot drinks & comfy chairs.
Up early but not too early for my lovly husband to drive me to the airport at 6am before heading back the other way to work. Managed to get away with hand luggage only and as I've checked in online the night before I headed straight through to find a quiet seat in the far corner of the departures area to await my gate call. I'm rather amused that I could also check in for my flight home & print my boarding pass before I'd even left home!

Flight was ok, only a few hours & I'd baggsied a window seat so got good views until we went above the cloud layer. Touched down in Budapest bang on time and again enjoyed the swift exit allowed by only having hand luggage. I found the Transport booth & bought my bus ticket, we were in luck as less than a week ago a new bus service had started up (100E) heading from the airport straight into the city centre with the first stop being just around the corner from our hotel. I was actually about an hour early for check in but again luck was on my side & the room
Szent istván BazilikaSzent istván BazilikaSzent istván Bazilika

St Stephens Basilica - we didn't go in but you can get up to a balcony at the base of the dome.
was ready so I headed straight up & flopped for a bit.

As I has several hours before Jamies flight landed around 2pm I headed out for a stroll around the city centre to get my bearings. As I was on a cheapo flight (Wizz) there was no included food on the flight so first stop was a bakery for a toasted sandwich. I wove my way up via the numerous green squares, wandered along the market at the edge of Erzsébet tér, admired St Stephen's Basilica (although my brain would keep calling it a basilisk all weekend!), was moved by the alternative Holocaust memorial in Szabadság tér (in protest against the misrepresented hisoty in the official monument opposite), was impressed by their very gothic looking parliament building and again moved by the Shoes on the Danube Bank (memorial to those shot & thrown into the danube by the Arrow Cross). I then wandered back down the bank of the Danube stopping at a shady bench to read my book, I got a bit lost in the story and the walk was longer than anticipated so I missed meeting Jamie's bus and found her back in the hotel room.
Photos of victimsPhotos of victimsPhotos of victims

Part of the alternative Holocaust memorial established in Szabadság tér (Freedom Square)
After a cuppa in the hotel lounge we headed out in search of supper. Being peckish we stopped at the first that looked ok, we were going to sit outside but the wind kepy blowing the menus off the table meant we moved to the rather grand inside to eat. Food was delicious, if in rather small portions so we ended the meal with a couple of cakes and mugs of hot chocolate so thick they were pretty much an extra dessert! We then wandared back to the hotel the long way to enjoy the warm evening.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Personal belongingsPersonal belongings
Personal belongings

Part of the alternative Holocaust memorial established in Szabadság tér (Freedom Square).
More personal belongingsMore personal belongings
More personal belongings

Part of the alternative Holocaust memorial established in Szabadság tér (Freedom Square).
Szabadság tér memorialsSzabadság tér memorials
Szabadság tér memorials

The official monument (commemorating Hungary’s occupation by Nazi Germany and portraying the country as a passive, innocent victim of the Germans rather than a willing participant) with the alternative memorial in the foreground.
Monument of Soviet Red ArmyMonument of Soviet Red Army
Monument of Soviet Red Army

Monument for Soviet liberation of Hungary in World War II from Nazi German occupation in Szabadság tér (Liberty Square).
View over the DanubeView over the Danube
View over the Danube

Looking towards Castle Hill from Parliament
Shoes on the Danube BankShoes on the Danube Bank
Shoes on the Danube Bank

To honor those killed by fascist Arrow Cross militiamen in Budapest during World War II.
The beautiful roof of Nagycsarnok The beautiful roof of Nagycsarnok
The beautiful roof of Nagycsarnok

Neogothic Great Market Hall.


Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb