Day 5: Thermal Baths, yes please


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
July 10th 2017
Published: July 10th 2017
Edit Blog Post

It was stinkin' hot today - like felt like 41 degrees hot - like bum sticking to the metro seats hot. As such, I made my way to the Szechenyi Baths for some good relaxation.

I don't really have pictures today because I just had my phone with me and there wasn't much to take... but it's a gorgeous location. Outside you have 3 giant pools (one normal one, one for swimming laps, one giiiiiiiiiiant hot tub) and then inside there are another 11 pools ranging from 21 degrees-ish up to 45 degrees. I spent the better part of the day outside - my pool chair in the shade thank you very much, got my book with me, and I'd run into the giant hot tub for 15 minute intervals (too much sun!) and then back to the shade so that I wouldn't burn haha. It worked! The hot tub has waterfall jets along the side statues too and one giant one in the middle so that did wonders for my shoulders as well. Travelling is a tough life 😉

Other than that not much happened today. I forgot to mention something else about Budapest yesterday - I forgot how quick their metro escalators are. Like, if you're not expecting it, you're going to do a face plant quick. So I had fun balancing on the steps again today.

Tomorrow I'm off to Lake Balaton for a few days... I'm not 100% sure what the wifi situation is up there so I'll try to check in. I'm planning to not do much other than read by the lake and maybe go for a hike or two if I can find somewhere good near where I'm staying, so I'll probably put a few of the days together in my next update.

I'm hopeful the humidity will break a little as we just had back to back (20 minutes apart) thunderstorms - nothing beats the sound of thunder <3 (In the time it took me to write this and upload the pictures a third thunderstorm broke out. Love it!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.388s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.117s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb