A Short Detour


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
August 27th 2006
Published: August 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Budapest 1Budapest 1Budapest 1

The view of the parliament building in Pest, from Buda.
After finally leaving the wonderful island of Kos, I have found my way across to Budapest-Hungary. I have spent a lot of time walking the city seeing the sights. The Castle Hill, Heroes Square, the Cathedral, the fantastic Parliament building on the banks of the Danube, and a really huge market, it's a very beautiful city. I was lucky enough to be here for St. Stephens day and so watched the big acrobatic plane air race held over the river - very exciting - and we stayed around to watch the big fireworks display afterwards. Unfortunately that was ruined by a huge freak storm that caused a bit of chaos across the city, floods, trees down, power lines down, and I got absolutely saturated. Fortunately we only got hit by a few twigs and nothing bigger.

I also met some friends of Julie whom she met on a trip to Fiji a few years ago. They took us sightseeing around Lake Balaton and then cooked us a wonderful traditional Hungarian lunch with the best cheesecake in the world. It was here I discovered a liking for homemade wine and homemade pear brandy- both very delicious but I think I may have been slightly sloshed when I left!! Oh, and Lajos and Piroska send a big hello and hug to Jo and Susie.

Well it's bye from me for now. From here I think I will head further west....Not sure what I will find but i'm sure it will be both exciting and interesting..


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Chain BridgeChain Bridge
Chain Bridge

Godfrey practising his 'crouching lion' pose.
RacingRacing
Racing

Watching the Red Bull Air Race above the river.
Fireworks.Fireworks.
Fireworks.

For the first 10 minutes the display was wonderful, then the rain (and hail)started!
Fireworks2Fireworks2
Fireworks2

The aftermath of the storm during the fireworks.
FireworksFireworks
Fireworks

After the storm during the fireworks I needed to dry myself off.
KinisziKiniszi
Kiniszi

Visiting the Kiniszi castle near Lake Balaton
New friendsNew friends
New friends

With Julie's Hungarian friends Lajos, Piroska and Dori, who kindly took us sightseeing for the day.
More restrictions!More restrictions!
More restrictions!

Every where I go i'm not allowed to be fed! What's with that??


Tot: 0.328s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1702s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb