Budapest Baths and Biking


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
May 25th 2013
Published: May 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Angel # 3Angel # 3Angel # 3

Doesn't she look like me?
This morning as I was heading out I passed by the gallery and saw Andrea again. I inquired how her swimming party with her friends had gone the day before. She was very animated and excited to report that they had a wonderful time, played poker, and she was the big, big, big winner. Because of her grand winnings she was having a party Sunday which happens to be Children's day, the compliment to Mother's Day. I reported to her about the birthday card dilemma, and she replied," we don't really do birthday cards, we do small gifts or party." Well that explains it.

The Gellert Hotel and St. Gellert Thermal Bath and Swimming Pools. The Gellert Bath and Hotel itself was built in the preceding decades, and opened its doors in 1918. Outdoor pools were added later on, and today it combines modern technical developments with rich historical heritage. They have even added a "wave pool" which operates every hour on the hour. For those who love spa and wellness, Budapest is unique for being the only large city in the world, which abounds in fountains of healing water. 70 million liters of 21-78 Celsius warm thermal water spring forth daily from its 118 natural thermal springs.

As early as in 1934, Budapest was awarded the supreme title "Spa City". Three years later, the first International Balneological Congress was organized, and the seat of the International Balneological Association was established at the Gellért Thermal Bath in Budapest. Today the outside swimming pool and deck areas including the thermal pool outside were relatively empty. Even the indoor facilities seemed scarcely populated. I opted for a cabin rental as opposed to a locker. The cabin is actually a small room with a mirror, place to hang your clothes; it is for changing and provides secure storage of your personal belongings. They have really unique little magnetic wrist bands that are like a small wristwatch that you use to check in at the front door and then for any appointments that you might have, it also is the key for unlocking your cabin. I arrived at about 11 o'clock and set my massage time for 1:15.

I enjoyed the increasingly warmer thermal baths. When relaxing and floating in the pools, the lovely evening I spent last night at the ballet kept running through my memory. I took a little time in the steam room and then the sauna. They actually have two saunas, the second of which was just too hot for me! I thoroughly explored the facility and was in absolute awe of the construction. I admire the original pyro-granite ornamentation around the pools made by the famous Zsolnay factory; the 10 windows of the lobby represent scenes from the epic, "Death of Buda" written by famous Hungarian poet, Janos Arany.

My masseuse was named Sylvia and as she worked on my lumps and knots, I began to relax and let all tension and stress that developed from pounding the pavement for days, release from my body. 60 minutes passed way too fast. The cost for entry with the cabin was about $20 US, and the massage was $62. Tomorrow I will try the baths recommended by Andrea that are just a few blocks from my hotel, The Novotel Danube. She explained to me that these are smaller and she prefers them most of the time as they're quite cozy and are of the Turkish style. Just think if you visited each of the 118 thermal baths in Budapest, you be waterlogged! I wouldn't mind the challenge.

I had planned to return to the hotel which isn't far from the Gellert baths by tram at the conclusion of my treatment. I arrived to my room and freshened up for my next adventure. I headed out on foot towards Margaret Island and had decided to have a late lunch at a small café/restaurant that was just a few blocks from the hotel, I enjoyed one of their three specials which was bean soup with a wonderful sliced sausage that flavored the entire creamy stew with a rich flavor and aroma.The main course was pork with onions, potatoes, peas and spices and it was delicious, a side salad arrived with the combination and that was out of this world. The salad was thinly sliced cabbage that had been slightly pickled, a kind of sweet pickle, and a fresh hot pepper yellow that had also been pickled. These crisp vegetables were a lovely compliment to the main entrée.The combination lunch came with coffee and I opted for espresso. All that and beer sent me back a total of $9.30.

I proceeded on foot to Margaret Island which is actually visible from my hotel lobby. Arriving there at about 5:30
Grand GellertGrand GellertGrand Gellert

I am HAPPY
, I rented a bike and then headed off to explore the large public park and grounds of the prior convent where Margaret was incarcerated by her father.

My dear sweet long time friend, espresso, I must confess I've been cheating on you. Coffee latte at the buffet breakfast in the hotel has captured my temporary attention. The only reason I bring this up now because I also had a caffe latte at a lovely little shop, Vanilin Cukraszda, www.vanilin.hu; along with an absolutely flaky, creamy, crusty, spongy, chewy sweet little treat called the Vanilin Kreme. This sweet shop is over-the-top, not with just in the variety of offerings and the beauty of their pastries; cookies, marzipan candy figures, cakes, torts, and puddings, my goodness you must see their wedding cake brochure, never have seen anything quite like it.

Arriving by Metro back at Batyany Ter I wander towards the church in the square, I enter and there's an organ practice in progress. It was lovely but ended quickly. Went into the grocery store and purchased a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon to keep me company as i pack for my tomorrow departure. Leaving the store I see a crepes cafe, looking at all the plates of the diners, I vow to return tomorrow for a treat to eat.


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Indoor Pool Indoor Pool
Indoor Pool

Water Aerobics Available.
Lounging In LuxuryLounging In Luxury
Lounging In Luxury

Check out the magnetic bracelet
Fresh PlantingsFresh Plantings
Fresh Plantings

Will provide great summer splashes of color
Marching Soldiers Marching Soldiers
Marching Soldiers

Notice the plumage on their Festive Hats
Lunch At Bem SorozoLunch At Bem Sorozo
Lunch At Bem Sorozo

Just two blocks from hotel
Biking on Margaret IslandBiking on Margaret Island
Biking on Margaret Island

Grand public area, enjoying respite from the city bustle


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb