Budapest Museum and Hot Springs


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
October 11th 2011
Published: October 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Woke up around 9 am, packed, ate and started my walking of the city. First up was the Massive 4 story market right off the Danube and Green Bridge...yes the river is Green and looks amazing at night. The Market was like a huge warehouse with tons of shops and food. I just walked through to the back and back around just to get a glance and I bought a patch of the country flag.

I then took the street tram to the Jewish Quarters where there was an amazing memorial for Hungarian Jews. It was a willow tree that was all silver metal and the hanging leaves were like dog tags with all the Hungarian Jews that were killed.

I walked to the Opera House next and just took a few pictures of the Lobby and outside of the Opera House.

Next up was prob one of the best Museums I have been to called the House of Terrors. It was such a interactive museum or more alive might be a better term. The Museum is about communism and the Hungarian Nazi division. It was just an intense Museum. Starting at the 3rd Floor and working your way all the way down through different themes, like propaganda, religion, concentration camps, and many more. You Finally get to the basement where the interrogations and torture rooms were. It was so creepy. I walked into a padded room and just had this tickle feeling down my spine. There were tons of just creepy rooms. The last hall you go through is the Victimizer hall. Its tons of pictures along the walls that were the abusers in all of this..They some how had the hand involved in spying or mistreating some one some how. It was overall just a great museum.

Next up was Heroes Square. It is exactly what it says, It is statues of all the Kings and Heroes that were important in Hungarian History like St Stephens, King St Laszlo and tons more. I took plenty of pictures of them all. This Square is the main entrance into the city park which is one of the more nicest ones I have been to on this trip so far. It was beautiful here. The best part about it was that it had Szechenyi Baths.

Szechenyi Baths are heated by thermal springs. This place was amazing. It was 12 euros for a day pass. So you pay....go down to the lockers and change... then you walk from room to room with saunas, steam rooms, and different temperature baths. It was just GREAT. I could have spent the whole day there but I spent about 4 hours there. I felt so relaxed when I left. It was a great way to end my Budapest trip.

Got back to the hostel and grabbed my bags and headed for the train. It was a long train ride to Brasov. Leaving Budapest at 7:10 pm and arriving in Brasov at 8:20 am, with a time change, hour a head.

Got to the train, ate some food and drank some wine on the train since it was still early and had to get passports stamped so It would have been pointless to go to sleep. I finished the food and the wine, and the trains vibration knocked the glass to the floor and it broke. They charged me two euros. I was like are you kidding me? I have never payed for a broken glass in my life at a restaurant and we are on a train that moves around alot.

I finally got my stamps and fell asleep.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb