Which Half is Buda and Which is Pest?


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
April 13th 1992
Published: February 24th 2023
Edit Blog Post

CitadelCitadelCitadel

Walking along the old wall in Pest.
Another overnight train and another early morning shower. Considering that Hungary had not long come out from under the iron curtain, it was surprising just how capitalist it seemed; advertising, markets, junk food and tacky tourist crap (but then I am one now). The roads were grid-locked and the whole place was so much busier than Prague. I suppose that I didn't really know what to expect, but I was surprised to say the least.

There was even a poxy McDonalds, which I was determined to avoid, especially as I had had a shower so didn't need to use their facilities. That was a good policy as the food on the markets was so varied and cheap that I would have missed out if I'd had the usual Big-Mac and stringy fries.

Again, a day meant a superficial tour. The River Danube splits the city in half. One half is the busy one that I've been describing above, and is called 'Buda'. The other half, however, is considerably quieter, although not as quite as Prague. This is called 'Pest' (assuming I haven't got them the wrong way round), hence giving the name 'Budapest' for the combined city.

The
Fisherman's BastionFisherman's BastionFisherman's Bastion

The impressive old buildings in Pest.
buildings in Pest are considerably less grand, but I think more attractive than those in Buda. It was like visiting two different cities. I walked along the walls of the old Citadell and enjoyed the views back across the river to Buda and the impressive Hungarian Parliament Building.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

River DanubeRiver Danube
River Danube

The view over the river from the Citadel.
ParliamentParliament
Parliament

The Hungarian Parliament Building in Buda.
Parliament BuildingParliament Building
Parliament Building

Looking back to Buda from the Citadel.


Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 69; dbt: 0.1235s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb