Is That a Compliment?


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest » Pest
June 27th 2011
Published: July 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I have been feeling very sluggish since I really haven’t done much exercise since I started my trip. So I really felt the need to go for a run, I also thought it was a great city to run in since you had all of the lovely scenery to look at as you went by. I ended up running down one of the bridges over to the Buda side then running along the river, it was a great feeling just to let your mind wander and have your body work. I couldn’t be out for too long since I had to check out of the Aboriginal hostel. I wanted to stay longer, but the hostel was booked (I think Elyane took the last booking and I teased her about it) but no worries, I booked into the hostel that Elyane had left. I got back and packed everything up and then I was off to find my next hostel, The Loft.

It turns out this hostel is in a much better location with a little bit more charm to it than the Aboriginal, but the staff there weren’t nearly as nice and inviting as the Aboriginal. I got in and was sitting down with one of the staff who was going over the city with me, when Emma walked in! We were going to be roommates! I got settled and chatted with Emma for a while then I decided I wanted to really go for a walk around on the Buda side since I had already done a lot of the Pest side the first full day I was in Budapest. I walked across the bridge and then up and up and up through this park until I came to the top and was looking down on the river and the Pest side, wow, incredible views! I was just leaning on the railing just enjoying myself when a person moved in close on my right side, I really didn’t think anything of it and my back was turned to the main area, and then another person moved in close on my left side. I was starting to think that it was kind of weird, and when I turned around it was a group who wanted a picture right where I was standing but didn’t say anything to me about moving! They had all positioned themselves perfectly around me and my
Looking down from the Buda sideLooking down from the Buda sideLooking down from the Buda side

On the Danube and Pest side
backside was their center piece! It wasn’t until I turned around that I had realized what was going on and moved out of the way! (Awkward!)
I walked around a bit more and then decided to call it a day, I am finally learning my way around the city (it is a very confusing city!) I went back to the hostel and ended up talking to Fatih on Skype! (Tour guide from my 2 week tour around Turkey) It was nice to talk to him and he too wants me to come back so he can take me to the Black Sea region of Turkey (this is starting to sound familiar! Must be really special!) While we were talking he kept telling me “you need to think like a Turk!” I found it hilarious so I would argue back and tell him” You need to think like an American!”

Emma came back and wanted to know if I wanted to go with her to return Dan’s towel (she had borrowed it the day before when we went to the thermal baths). So I tagged along as we walked back to the Aboriginal hostel (I didn’t even need a map this time! Yay!) We got there and Irish Dave offered me a beer; I was wearing a tank top and he said something about muscles so I flexed and the guys were impressed (I am nowhere near as in shape as I have been in the past so I didn’t think much of it) pretty soon several guys were feeling my arm muscles (a bit weird) and I was labeled as a “solid woman” (is that a compliment?) But then said that I was also very feminine (yay, comeback, I was just about to tell them to keep digging). A couple Irish guys had checked into the hostel the night before and tonight they were getting everyone really rowdy with some drinking games. It got a little too loud and the Manager, Chris, told Dave to take everyone to a bar. So we all (except for Emma and Dan) went to the bar. We sat down and Irish Dave ordered us all a Narglie, it was a bit different from Turkey as the water in the bottom had ice in it (don’t know what that’s supposed to do) and it actually was the worst one I have ever had (ice
Oh I am so glad you put this sign up!Oh I am so glad you put this sign up!Oh I am so glad you put this sign up!

Now I know where to go . . .
= bad Nargile!). Irish Dave then challenged me to arm wrestling – haha, I have got this one in the bag! I arm-wrestled him and beat him fair and square! Then Antonio the Brazilian, challenged me, I was a little unsure since I had already arm-wrestled once and he was fresh, but I took him on and won against him fair and square as well! A little later on Irish Dave regained some confidence and challenged me again, and I won again! One of the Irish travelers was sitting next to me after I beat Dave for the second time and was talking a big game of how he could beat me (but he wouldn’t accept my offer to try, ha!). In all actuality the Irish traveler was so incredibly hard to understand, even Irish Dave couldn’t translate his English (and he’s Irish!). I just stared at this Irish guy trying to understand the words that were coming out of his mouth, but I swear he wasn’t speaking English! (very interesting experience knowing that you are supposed to be understanding what he is saying, and you feel rude after asking him to repeat things twice, so on the third time
Irish Dave and Uber Irish guy I can't understandIrish Dave and Uber Irish guy I can't understandIrish Dave and Uber Irish guy I can't understand

Irish Dave is in the black shirt
you don’t understand you just smile and nod but this was constant!)

We all walked back to the hostel and I got into the elevator (it just looks a little sketchy, but I didn’t feel like walking up 5 flights of stairs, it’s called the Loft for a reason) and when it got to my floor, the door only opened about a third of the way. I had to use the last of my strength to push it all the way back, and then once I looked down, the elevator had stopped about a foot above where it was supposed to! So I quickly hopped down so that it didn’t all of a sudden decide to start moving again from some reason.
Budapest has so many quirks, it’s quite interesting!
B


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb