Things I have found in my flat.


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest » Buda
September 10th 2013
Published: September 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

It's really great having a fully furnished apartment for two reasons.

1. There's a lot of stuff that I need.

2. There's a lot of stuff that I don't need.

My flat is known by my friends as "the old lady apartment." I've come to embrace that because it's much easier than describing the exact area in which I live. I love my flat. It's huge. I have two balconies, a kitchen, a living room, a bedroom (kind of), and a dining room. Not bad.

Today I went to Ikea to get new towels and a trash can and stuff because the stuff provided wasn't up to my standards. As much as I want to dry myself off with crazy scratchy towels for a year...no.

Anyway...when I was putting away my new things, I decided to really go through and see everything I have here. And let me tell you, it made my night. Here are the things I found in my old lady apartment.

1. Really fancy shot glasses. Like, mini wine, martini, and margarita glasses.

2. Shot glass coasters. Yup.

3. A tent that I apparently put over my food in the summers to keep the bugs out. Basically a mosquito net for dinner. Ahh...memories of Africa...

4. A frying pan with a crazy long handle that is either used for campfires in the middle of the city or as a murder weapon and subsequent shovel to bury the body...(that might explain the giant carpet in my closet...)

5. The final tally for all the casserole/pie dishes I have? A MILLION.

6. I either have water bowls for dogs, or my dogs just use regular bowls for water. It could go either way.

7. Straws. Everywhere. Why.

8. 2 garlic presses. Because you can't have just one!

9. You know those "gourmet" cookies that come in the tins and are actually tasteless? I have one of those tins full of Easter eggs.

10. So many throw pillows. So many. They smell like old lady.

11. Trinkets and vases and plates. Oh my! But seriously. If everyone brings flowers to my apartment, I have space for them. And by everyone, I mean everyone in Budapest/the whole world.

12. Haven't tackled the food cabinet yet. A little afraid. Tomorrow.

13. My glass measuring up for measuring liquids is wobbly. Seems counterproductive.

14. A radio from either the 80's or early 90's that doesn't work and I don't know what to do with it.

15. I don't know what that wooden thing in one of the pictures is. I kept it because it seemed to go with something else, but I don't even know what that something else does. I just...can't.

16. My oven mitt has a face on it.

Tomorrow I'll tackle the rest. Got most of the kitchen done today. These are all 'before' pictures.

Szieszto!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



11th September 2013

Too Funny
Thank you for including pictures....I can't stop laughing about all the random items.
13th September 2013

What fun
What happened to the old lady? Sounds like you have an apartment filled with her treasurers.. New life and new experience.. Peace Baba
17th September 2013

things i have found in my flat
hilarious

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb