Days 49 - 50: Budapest, Hungary


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest » Buda
January 14th 2010
Published: January 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Days 49 - 50: Thursday, January 14th - Friday, January 15th.
Budapest, Hungary.

Day 49: Thursday, January 14, 2010.
Budapest, Hungary.


I decide to hang in the Castle area today (tired of that walk to and from the metro) and I head over to the Palace to take a tour (this link is to a virtual tour site that gives some tidbits of info on the palace). The Palace is now a couple of Museum's and, once again, I'm not a painting and sculpture kind of girl. I like to see architecture and furniture, I'm odd that way. So, I enjoyed the first floor that had a few stairwells here and there that showed the preserved cellars and what not. Then I quickly went thru the 2nd and 3rd floor as they were pretty much art and sculptures. I wandered around outside and meandered around the castle district some more. Another nice, relaxing day.

Kinga ends up having a heck of a time getting into town thanks to the strike and ends up getting a ride from her brother who drops her off (and Tibi will pick her up later). She's already eaten so we head to a restaurant where she talks while I eat
Latest P.O.N.Latest P.O.N.Latest P.O.N.

Taken at my favorite place in Budapest, Fisherman Bastion.
(ok, I talked a lot too- it's a habit.) We head back to the hotel and wait for Tibi and continue to gab about this and that. We make plans to see each other again tomorrow night so once again we say "See you later."

**********************************************
Day 50: Friday, January 15, 2010.
Budapest, Hungary.


This day was mainly a packing/getting reading for Athens and some more Castle area wandering. I sit and read a book for about an hour in a park by the Fisherman's Bastion and decide it would be another perfect spot for a P.O.N.

Poor Kinga had a hell of a day so she and Tibi were only able to stop by for about 20 minutes that night. We take a few picture, have a few laughs (she tried on my backpack, Monstro!) and once again say "See you later" though neither of us knows when that'll be. Hopefully it won't take 17 years. She's an amazing woman and it was good to catch up.

I wish I could say I slept well that night but typical travel anxieties got me, so I streamed Gilmore Girls via my laptop and had a mini marathon for most of the night. I can always sleep on the plane.


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Moi at Budapest CastleMoi at Budapest Castle
Moi at Budapest Castle

Had this set on a timer, so forgive the blur.
Building with damage from WWIIBuilding with damage from WWII
Building with damage from WWII

If I remember correctly, I think the tour guide 2 days ago said this building was either a Nazi or Russian headquarter building.
Parliament and the River Danube.Parliament and the River Danube.
Parliament and the River Danube.

Take from Budapest Castle.


23rd January 2010

You put bras and panties on all the sculptures?
Did you catch any fish?
23rd February 2010

You're pretty!
Hey Amanda, is that a new shirt? I don't remember seeing it on our Contiki adventure. Have you dumped your old clothes and bought a new wardrobe? How are your jeans holding up?...with a belt? Hee hee hee...I funny!

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb