Budapest


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Budapest
February 20th 2010
Published: April 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Regarded as one of the most beautiful cities in Europe, its extensive World Heritage Site includes the banks of the Danube, the Buda Castle Quarter, Andrássy Avenue, Heroes' Square and the Millennium Underground Railway, the second oldest in the world. It also has the second largest synagogue, and third largest Parliament building. Most of these are great photo opportunities, obviously.

My first impression though wasn’t really a positive one. In fact, it’s now becoming pretty standard that I at first think that I’m not going to like a city, but leave thinking entirely the opposite. Anyways, Budapest is, like many of the other European cities I’ve recently visited, very beautiful…..in parts. We stayed in the Marco Polo Hostel just a short walk away from the city centre, which was a great idea. Again, like many of the other cities, Budapest is relatively easy to navigate once you find your bearings……and getting lost is one way of finding them!! But I won’t bore you with those details. Hehe. So, a walk over the Chain Bridge to the castle and back, then over to the impressive parliament building then a lonnnng walk up to Hero Square where Liam & I discussed the merits of communism, democracy and much other random crap that boys usually talk about until we reached our destination, took lots of pictures and walked back. Such a beautiful place. I’d come here again I think.

Sadly, I decided to avoid any further t*tty bars as I need to curb my spending somewhat, so much of the time was spent site seeing and taking photographs……but we did end up in the bar next door pretty much all night!! Lots of dancing & live music……ahhhhhh the perfect way to spend an evening.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb