Patmos


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece
August 2nd 2017
Published: August 3rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Another port without an organised tour, so we took a taxi with Edwin and Joke our new friends from Belgium to the Cave of St John. Patmos is known as the island to which St John was exiled and where he wrote the Book of Revelation. The small cave is where St John made his home during his time on the island, the cave was later converted into a beautiful chapel.

Travelling further towards the village of Chora we visited the Monastery of St John which was built in 1088. Within the monastery we visited the treasury now a museum housing collections of rare icons, jewellery, crowns and vestments. A fast taxi ride saw us back to the port and Skala Village developed during the 19th century a pretty little village filled with cafes, tavernas and small shops.

We were a first worried to see a little dog crossing from one side of the main street to the other, but as we watched he looked both ways and then leisurely set off to safely cross the road, we saw this happen again later in the afternoon. We could only imagine the locals were used to this cute little guy, he certainly had more confidence crossing the busy road than we did.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.025s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0049s; 1; m:saturn w:www (104.131.125.221); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb