On The Road


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » West Macedonia
August 8th 2012
Published: August 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


First time back in thessalonica since hitchhiking to Ankara after O levels 44 years ago. O christ I'm getting old! No memory of it at all. It's 40-42 degrees down here. Not really suitable for cycling or indeed much else but plod on no doubt I will. Drinking milk, juice and the occaisional beer by the litre, can barely keep up. Only about 500km to ' Stambul where I meet Lin on the 20th (courtesy BA natch) Hopefully to resupply clean smalls, a new tyre and an oil change. Rivetting stuff n'est-ce-pas? No, ok well this is optional reading and content is bound to be about as fascinating as a bloke on a bike can make it.For what it's worth , Greece is a great country, lovely folk and so far no miseries at all so how they have got into this fiscal mess is anyones' guess. I'll avoid proper political comment as the topic tends to stupify and mystify me. Back to the Brooks vs Bum issue which is far more important than fisco-political meltdown as all cyclists will appreciate. I think my bum is now just about 'at one' with the Blazin' Brooks. Another 3 or 4 thound more Km will tell. You can't rush these very personal/interpersonal relationships. I'm on my 3rd beard of the trip and am well overdue for a haircut. I thought I'd wait til I get to Turkey before getting a trim with all the trimmings ( thats singeng of nose and auricular hair for those not familiar with these tonsorial events) and be assured, at 60 these outgrowths of inappropriate hair do require attention. Not sure about the use of flame to achieve it, will keep you informed ofcourse. I think I've covered 4600km and that's about a 5th of the trip. At this rate I'll still be at it well into 2013. Rainy season in Oz. Not very bright. Didn't pack a pack-a-mack.

Next exhillerating entry likely to be from Istambul.

Don't think it'll go viral do you?

Nick/ Cyclopath

Advertisement



9th August 2012

Pics
Any chance of some photos?!?

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb