Slow Days


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » West Greece » Patras
March 18th 2010
Published: April 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

BARI Day 57



Uneventful day of trains that break and then have to get on a bus and then back on a train and finally making it to the ferry. The ferry was a superfast and it was both super and fast. I found it really comfortable and a really nice journey. When I wake up it will be to Greece!

PATRA Day 58



The ferry finally docked in Patra Greece. The coast at Patra is beautiful and it is just a port town so I can’t imagine how the rest of Greece will be. The ferry arrived in Patra at noon and I quickly learned that the train system in Greece is practically non-existent and that parts that do run suck! So I waited three hours for the train in to Athens. While I waited I went for lunch with this old American man who used to be a lawyer in DC but is now trying to find himself and write a book. He hopes his journey around the world will provide inspiration for this book. We parted ways as soon as we arrived in Athens.

The train ride, though slow as hell, had some beautiful coastal views. As usual I was diverted from the train on to the bus for a portion of the journey and then returned to the train. I finally made it to Athens at 8:30pm. I wandered around Athens, getting lost a few times in the dark, until I found my hostel. On the walk there were some amazing views of Acropolis all lit up in the night sky. It is really beautiful and I can’t wait to see it up close.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.282s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb