Folegandros


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Thessaly » Meteora
September 19th 2005
Published: September 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Left for Ios on Saturday morning and arrived about 4pm and found that no-body was waiting for us like we had arranged so jumped on the bus to take us into the village where our hostel was supposed to be. Got into the village and wandered around for a while and found the tourist information centre where we asked where our accomodation was, she had never heard of it so I used my mobile to call the place (Francescos) and she was surprised that we hadnt been picked up from the ferry as the driver is always there to meet the ferries, she then told me to go to the national bank and ask in one of the shops as they know where Francescos is.

Spent a while looking for the national bank and couldnt find it so I headed back to the tourist office to find out where it is and she told me that there is no bank on the island only an ATM! I asked if this was Chora and if it was the main village and she said yes. So I ran back to where Pamela was waiting with the bags and spent a while slagging off Francescos and the lonely planet guide for being full of crap. I then went back to the tourist office with the lonely planet guide to try again, she was busy so I spent some time looking around at the maps on the walls and noticed that there was a name in Greek above the maps that didnt look like Ios but there was one map of Ios so I relaxed a bit. When it was my turn I said 'this is Ios isn't it?' and she said 'ah, no this is Folegandros!'

Had a bit of an embarrassed laugh for a while and so did the rest of the tourist office, then found out there were no more ferries to Ios until Monday but we could go to Naxos and then on to Ios (which is going back on ourselves as we should of got off at the next stop on the ferry) the next day. So we booked our tickets and found somewhere to stay for the night, it was really nice in Folegandros so it wasnt a bad thing. Had to sort out Francescos as they were expecting us so told them be would be there on Sunday and we had got off at the wrong island.

Headed to Naxos on Sunday and when we got there Pamela ran to get the tickets for the next ferry and I waited with the bags but aarrggh! the ferry was full so we are in Naxos for another night (which also isn't a bad thing) as there are no ferries until Monday at 4pm. Had to phone Francescos again and explain but they dont seem too bothered so its ok! Starting to think we will never get to Ios but will keep my fingers crossed that we manage to get on this ferry and then go and Party!

Also got burnt on the ferry on Saturday as I forgot I am not one of the beautiful golden people and should stay out of the sun. I am now one of the beetroot people and have been avoiding the sun since, which is a bugger as we are right next to the beach in Naxos!



Advertisement



1st November 2005

wow wonderful pictures
thank you for the pictures and the comments makes me feel like I am following a documentary. It is great and what a nice cat you had there, little buggar. love anamaria

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0183s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb