Heaven on Earth?


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Santorini
June 9th 2010
Published: June 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

If there is one, I think I’ve found it! After spending less than 24 hours in Athens, Greece I hopped on a short 45 minute flight to Santorini, Greece…the most amazing place I’ve ever been to. It’s absolutely breathtaking. The sun is always shining, bright and hot, the people are amazingly friendly and the food is fantastic! I think I’ve found my new favorite place to be, and I’ll definitely be coming back here again, soon.
Once I arrived I had a car waiting for me at the airport to take me to my hotel, or villa. It was about a 30 minute drive from the airport on narrow, winding roads but with incredible views the whole way. I had a “bell hop” waiting for me as soon as the car arrived and he took my luggage to my room and then I met the owner of the villas who I’d been communicating with about my stay for the past 3 months. She is incredible, and so is the rest of the staff. The owner, Rena, showed me around my room, which is small, and then opened the doors to my private veranda. WOW! It’s incredible, and I don’t have words
the sunsetthe sunsetthe sunset

taken with my point-and-shoot...super grainy...i'll get better ones tomorrow!
to describe it. I have a sprawling view of the entire island (I’m staying in Oia, pronounced Ia) and an incredible view of the volcano and the neighboring island of Thirassia. I was in awe over the view, and didn’t want to move. Rena continued to explain some tours, and other things to do on the island then brought me a glass of orange juice and left me to enjoy the view. I immediately sat down on the veranda, where I stayed for the next 2 hours, just being. The beauty of this island is romantic, and charming, and authentic, and in my opinion, needs to be experienced at least once in a persons life.
I unpacked a little and then wandered the walking streets of Oia which are filled with little shops. Some with the typical souvenirs and others filled with amazing art and jewelry. I wandered to the furthest point in Oia, without going to the beach below, and then wandered back to find someplace for lunch. I found a great place called King Neptunes and sat on their upper terrace so I could enjoy the view some more. I ordered a traditional Greek yoghurt dip (I don’t know how to spell the name, but I’ll figure it out and let you know) which was delicious, and I had a Greek salad. I’ve really enjoyed the food all through my trip, it’s really a great way to experience the culture and traditions of all of the places I’ve visited, so I hope you are all enjoying hearing about all of the food I’ve been eating! I think I’m going to have to learn how to cook some of the things I’ve had, especially some of this Greek food!
I eventually made my way back to my hotel and continued to enjoy the view from the veranda. I had one of the staff show me where the pool was, which is actually quite far from my room, so I’m not sure how often I’ll utilize it.
It was then time for dinner, and to catch a view of the amazing sunset. I don’t remember the name of the place I ate at, but I had sweet red wine, made in Santorini, mousaka which is kind of like lasagna but made with potatoes, eggplant, zucchini, and minced beef. I had baklavas and a cappuccino for dessert. I then made my way to a spot to enjoy the sunset, which took my breath away as soon as I turned the corner and caught my first sight of the setting sun. I stood and watched the sunset for about 15 minutes then wandered back to my hotel and enjoyed a glass of wine on the veranda until I was ready to sleep.
I woke up this morning around 9...the first morning I haven’t set an alarm clock this whole vacation! I know that sounds weird, but every other place I’ve been I had a huge list of things I wanted to see, but I knew here in Santorini all I wanted to do was relax, and that is what I’m doing.
I went for a nice, long walk then found a café for breakfast and enjoyed fresh squeezed orange juice, literally made right after I ordered it, a cappuccino, yoghurt with honey and walnuts, and a crepe with ham and cheese. Way too much food! I thought I was hungry enough, but I think everything just sounded so good I wanted to try it all! I went back to my hotel to lay in the sun a while, then decided to go on a little adventure. I rented an ATV for the day! I’d forgotten how much fun they can be and yes I wore a helmet! I drove on the narrow, winding roads to Fira, found a spot to park and then wandered the streets, and shops for the afternoon. I’m glad I spent under budget in most all of the other places because I certainly made up for it here! I bought a couple of necklaces, two silver rings, a pair of leather sandals, and TWO leather bags (and I might go back tomorrow for a 3rd)! After all the shopping I remembered I drove an ATV here, and though how the heck am I going to get all of this back? I managed to do it, thanks to the backpack I had with me. Before I left Fira I stopped for lunch and had a gyro with fries and banana juice. The gyro wasn’t a typical gyro, it was all the fixings but just on a plate, not wrapped in the pita. And the banana juice was amazing! I’m definitely going to have that again before I leave!
I made my way back to Oia, which took about 45 minutes on the ATV, but it’s a beautiful drive along the other side of the island that my hotel is on, so I didn’t mind at all. I had a smile on my face the entire time. I kept thinking I can’t believe I’m here, doing this…how amazing!
I’ve spent the remaining part of my day sitting on my veranda enjoying the sun and just relaxing. I realized earlier this afternoon that as of today it’s been 18 months since my Mom passed away. I now keep looking at the empty chair on my veranda, wishing she was sitting there, smiling back at me, with her big hat on, and probably sun burnt shoulders. Wherever she is, I know she’s smiling though. I’m so happy I took a leap, and found the “guts” to go on this trip. Alone is the only way I would have done this.
I’m still sitting on my veranda watching all the sailboats go by, probably out to find a good spot to watch the sunset, and thinking I need to wander out to find some dinner. Tomorrow is another day of sun and relaxation. After how busy I’ve been for the last two and half weeks it’s hard for me to believe I have two whole days left of this.
Enjoy the pictures…the ones that I’ve taken at least, most of which were taken with my point-and-shoot, not my dSLR. I haven’t taken many here, yet, because I’m just trying to take it all in. I plan on going for my own little photo walk tomorrow to catch all the things I’ve seen so far.



Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

The view!The view!
The view!

where i'll rest my feet for the next 3 days!


9th June 2010

Beautiful
Looks like that would be an incredible place to live - check out the job market for me Christina. Enjoy! Jana
9th June 2010
Santorini 027

I will be retiring there.
9th June 2010

AMAZING!!!
I love it! Couldn't be happier for you and so glad the weather is cooperating and you are able to soak it all in a relax! What a great way to wrap up an AMAZING adventure! Thanks for taking me along(in spirit). Loved every minute of it!
9th June 2010

santorini
Hi Chris, Wish I were there...:) Nancy
11th June 2010

Congrats!
SO happy you were able to take this trip! I cannot wait to hear all about it!

Tot: 0.301s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb