Ho Hum, Ho Hum . . .


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Santorini
June 12th 2007
Published: June 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Good timesGood timesGood times

Jen and I one night in Mykonos, can you tell we spent the day at the beach!?
So here we are about a week before we head home and I'm finally used to the whole live-out-of-a-backpack, sleep-in-a-different-bed every couple nights, and wear-the-same-5-shirts deal. It's officially life instead of a vacation . . . wierd!!

Santorini and Greece in general are great! Very different from our whirlwind tour of Italy. Since the beginning of this trip I had the Italy travel book and Jen had the Greece one, I think that may have something to do with why we saw a TON of stuff while we were in Italy and we are relaxing in Greece. 😊 Jen and I have discussed this many times . . . we think part of it has to do with being tired and we just don't care about seeing every city's "National Archaeological Museum," plus you can only see so many ruins, renassiance/Roman/Greek architectural "jems" before they all start to look the same. We've progressively taken less and less pictures, we figure we'll remember it without. We've also discovered that our ideas of travel are quite different 😊

I (laura) like to know what I'm looking at and know the history behind what we're seeing whether it's work of art,
SantoriniSantoriniSantorini

The black sand beach of Santorini about a 5 min. walk from our hostel . . . ahhh, this is the life!
a government building, or an ancient ruin. Hence, why we walked all over Italy with our on-loan Lonely Planet Book, with me stopping every 50 ft. to read about where we were--can you say "tourist spotting"? I think Jen may have rolled her eyes at me many a time, but b/c my nose was in that book, I missed it, haha.

Jen on the other hand prefers to just be in the place, she's said to me numerous times, "I don't care what we're seeing or what it means I just want to see the city. I wanted to go to Athens to go to Athens not to see this, this, this, and that." (okay well she did think it was a good idea to see the Acropolis).

It's actually worked out quite well, we've had a good balance after the last week, when I got burned out and started to think her way of doing it may be a little more relaxing, well at least every once in a while! 😊

So yeah . . . things we've learned while traveling:
Jen and Laura have different ideas what you should do when you travel--nature vs. nurture
Jen and the boys . . . as usual :)Jen and the boys . . . as usual :)Jen and the boys . . . as usual :)

Jen and a bunch of the guys we met in Mykonos dancing the night away at the Beach Bar . . . by far the best music we've heard in the last month!
maybe?

Jen is deathly afraid of spiders

Laura is paranoid about bugs, and jumps when something buzzes in her ear.

Traveling is way more expensive than you ever think it's going to be!!

Internet time goes quicker than you t . . . hink (that's right, I was disconnected and had to buy 15 more minutes so that I could finish typing this to you all!) Bye!

~Laura

Advertisement



12th June 2007

take more pictures
I can't wait to hear your stories and see your pictures so keep taking them! Sounds like you guys are having a great time, I look forward to your blogs every day, I sent the link to my parents, I think they printed them out for grandpa and grandma....at least most of them, nothing too shocking that you wrote, ha ha! I'm glad you guys are having fun, can't wait to see you when you get back, hopefully I'll be officially living in MI then. Right now just my stuff is officially living there! Stay safe, I don't know how you live on 5 shirts for this long, I guess this is why I may never get to have an experience like yours!!
17th June 2007

haha wow....those are some good lookin men:) Now I truly am jelious....Jen seriously...how in the world do u have 5 rediculously good looking, down right charmening men all over ya....my only thought is that the Kool charm works even when your in Greece:)

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb