Signs in Oia


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Santorini »  Ia
May 21st 2022
Published: May 21st 2022
Edit Blog Post

CalmCalmCalm

I had to reach over somebody's fence to get this calm photo. There was no place to sit and absorb the beauty of the views here. Oia is a place to come in, get the photos and leave.
Took the bus to Oia this morning, seeking THAT photo of the three blue tops of churches. Yeah, I spent weeks working on a puzzle of Oia this winter. It had too many blue pieces, and after I completed the town with its famous blue-domed churches and landscape, I gave up on the blue sky and clouds. This morning, I was eager to see those private balconies with pretty coloured gates and flowers in terracotta pots surrounding the churches.

Nobody mentioned the hair-pin turns around steep cliffs during the drive to Oia. Whew! I did not have a window seat, but did try to snap a couple of photos. On the way back, the bus took the lower road where we could see lovely beaches and parched farmland. At first I thought I was on the wrong bus but this island is small and I figured I could catch a better bus. Happily, the big vehicle started chugging uphill, and then we were back in Fira.

Getting off the bus on mass in Oia, we all looked for signs where to go, and like lemmings we followed the people in front who seemed to know where they are going.
near end of townnear end of townnear end of town

First attempt took me to this end of town. Nice views but not the one every person was seeking.
When I got to first view of the caldera I could see at least three cruise ships. Yikes! It would be hell to tour Fira today, so I guess the lesson for any travelers reading this blog is to avoid Fira on Saturdays, and I think Thursdays.

The 'streets' of Oia are narrow and flow up and down. In my first attempt to 'find that view', the road ended at a look-off where you could see the windmill (not interested) and the ruins of a fort (ditto) and another view of caldera. There was a professional photo shoot that took up a piece of the space, and every other part had people snapping pictures of each other or the view. I volunteered to take photos of couples and other lone tourists, and they took some for me. I worked my way back to the centre of the narrow town and found two angles of the blue domes. I think the photographer of that puzzle picture must have been on higher, perhaps private ground. When I'm back home, I'll be searching through these shots to find parts of that puzzle.

The sun was beating down as we patiently waited
blue domesblue domesblue domes

Found you! Though I am at a different angle than that Christmas puzzle. Can you see all the cruise ships parked in front of Fira (other end of the water)?
our turn to get to the areas for 'that' shot. I gave up at one site, figuring that no place was going to give the perfect photo. I was more entertained by the signs of Oia (see photos) asking tourists to behave themselves. As noon approached, I headed for a Thai restaurant that I saw from the bus ride in town. When I got there, a sign informed me it opened at one. Dang! I would have loved to eaten my favourite food in this busy little town. But the good news is that as I walked back to the bus stop it was perfect timing to get on a bus and head back to Fira to upload these photos.

Summarizing public transport here, bus drivers are impatient as they herd tourist cattle on and off the buses. They use polite words like 'please' and 'thank you', but their grumpiness transcends the term and they come across as saying 'idiot' or 'stupid one'. Over meals I have heard complaints about the bus drivers. Perhaps after two years of covid, the fellows working in public transportation forget the boost to the economy each bewildered tourist heading for Fira brings in? or maybe they are fed up with the invading army of visitors from all over the world, with their limited English as the only way to communicate? Maybe they don't realize how jet-lagged or hung over tourists can be? I bought a book about Santorini and read it last night. Being one of the top FIVE destinations in the world, you are surrounded by people from many countries. It can be fun trying to figure out what language is being spoken around you. I think only 60% is Greek.

Me, I like the mindlessness of being a tourist. Once I have sussed out the lay of the land, I'm content to produce my coin for a ticket and demurely find a seat on the bus...yes, wearing a mask as instructed. Most of the British tourists do not have masks and they have been allowed on the bus. *shrug*

I have checked and see no comments from people from home. If you read this blog and can give me an update about how things are there, please do. Remember, I have no access to my gmail and cannot read any emails that you send. The only way for prob
shadeshadeshade

This was the only shade in town besides narrow strips provided by buildings.
a week more is to make a comment here.

It struck me that perhaps no one is checking this blog, which makes me chuckle. I guess this IS a solitary trip to Greece; a time to relax and reflect and just hang out.

Bit past two in afternoon here and I'm wondering if I should grab a bus to the south of the island to the archaeological site, or if I should return to my village with the beautiful beach. I guess it depends on the outside heat and the bus station and next bus out. I'd like to spend tomorrow just hanging on Kamari's lovely beach....or attempting the killer walk up a steep ridge surrounding Kamari to get to 'ancient Thera' and a monastery. According to the book I bought, it is the site of Dorian and Byzantium towns...which is a bit mundane compared with Minoan sites. If I go to Akrotiri (new name of ancient people who lived here before volcano exploded), I'll try to stop back here and upload the photos.

An interesting fact from the book about Santorini, there is a village that has big festival in August to celebrate no natural disasters over the winter. *chuckling* Geeez, that emphasizes the wisdom of visiting this place, and not living here full time. The volcano in the centre of the caldera is quietly active, building that centre island....or just waiting to explode in frustration. Not this weekend, please. *shmirk*


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Read the wordsRead the words
Read the words

Instructions for visitors.
homeshomes
homes

A mixture of private homes and apartments to rent and hotels.
wrong blue domewrong blue dome
wrong blue dome

Not the classic church we were looking for.
many touristsmany tourists
many tourists

but I have the feeling that this town could get super crowded
harbourharbour
harbour

I think there was a way to walk down there, but I was not interested today.
restaurants with a viewrestaurants with a view
restaurants with a view

Again, I wasn't interested today. I think Fira's restaurants were better.
Realizing I am at wrong angleRealizing I am at wrong angle
Realizing I am at wrong angle

Dress is from Brazil, surroundings Greece, woman Canadian
respectrespect
respect

Sign says it all


21st May 2022

More adventures!
Nice to see you blogging and travelling again!
22nd May 2022

Hello
Nice to hear from you! Yes, it feels good to be traveling again.
22nd May 2022
Vegan delight

how wonderful!
One of my biggest worries the past few years (well except for the covid times when we couldn't travel) was where would I eat and what would I eat. So lovely to see more places opening up around the world offering healthy choices that don't involve eating an animal. Mind you.
25th May 2022

Reading your blog
Hey Teresa … just wanted you to know I’m following along and reading your blog . Loving seeing your pictures. Good for you for letting us enjoy this amazing trip along with you. Hugs and best wishes for a fantastic trip and memories to last a lifetime Sharron and Terry

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb