Rhodes


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Rhodes
June 11th 2010
Published: June 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After a sad farewell to Fethiye and all the great people I had met there, I hopped on a fast ferry (a hydrofoil, where the boat floats up out of the water on account of a wing in the water below it) to the Greek island of Rhodes.

As the ferry pulled into the harbour, the first thing you see are some very imposing medieval walls guarding an old Greek town. I wandered the city for nearly an hour with my big backpack on in 30 degree heat (darn my stubbornness for not taking taxis) and finally found my hostel, which had a pool that I promptly cooled off in. I took some time this day to wander aimlessly through the old walled town taking lots of photos and indulged in some wonderful bacon-wrapped souvlaki (my first bacon in over 2 months)! Feeling a little sick (sinuses not behaving here), I took a very long siesta after watching Bob Ross paint some "happy little trees", but dubbed in Greek!

I caught a public bus from Rhodes city to the small traditional Greek town of Lindos. Lindos is a collection of 17th century whitewashed houses situated below a large cliff-bound citadel, home to one of the ancient wonders of the world: The Temple of Artemis. Here, I wandered aimlessly (notice a trend?) through the labyrinthine alleyways during a light sun-shower followed by scorching sun. I found a nice quiet spot below the cliffs of the citadel on a nice broken and half-buried slab of marble to read my book, when I promptly realized I was sitting on a fragment of a marble statue that appears to have been tossed from the cliff above! There were pieces of carved marble surrounding me everywhere, all apparently belonging to this same statue! A surreal experience indeed!

After a brief passport scare (my hotel couldn't find it for awhile!), I hopped on a night-long ferry to the Cycladic island of Santorini.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb