Greek Island Hopping


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Rhodes
May 3rd 2007
Published: May 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last sunset in IstanbulLast sunset in IstanbulLast sunset in Istanbul

From the rooftop in our hostel
After a mammoth 13 hour bus ride, I arrived on the coast in Marmaris and booked my ferry ride across to Greece. After another 4 hour wait, I was off, and a couple of hours later I was on Greece soil. The first sight was of big medieval walls surrounding the city, which was pretty cool. I wandered around and went into the first accomodation place I found and it turned out to be the top budget hostel in the Lonely Planet guide! Score! The rest of the day was spent doing a bit of exploring around the medieval cobbled streets. It turns out that this is the oldest lived in Medieval city in the world. Very cool.

The following day, no one told me, but it was a public holiday and basically nothing was open. All that work getting up early for nothing! At least I beat the hordes of tourists and got to see the free stuff anyway.

The next day I got out of the city and went south down to Lindos, which is a small little beach town, with some Roman ruins on a hilltop. Due to having my ferry ride earlier than I
View from MarmarisView from MarmarisView from Marmaris

From the wharf out into the Greek Islands
thought, I only had a few hours here, but stormed up to the ruins, admired the view then went down to the beach for my first swim in the Aegean. Then it was back to catch the ferry, and turned out it was fairly empty so I got to stretch out a bit and ended up getting some decent sleep. I also met a Polish girl, who is more proof to my theory that all girls are addicted to chocolate. I was chatting to her, then all of a sudden she got up and sprinted off. A couple of minutes later, she comes back apologises and says that the chocolate shop just opened, then pulls out this big kilo bar of white Toblerone! Females aye..... I also watched Moan U get humilated by AC Milan before sleeping and pulling into Athens.

It took me a little while to find a hostel here, but on Michelle's recommendation, I found one and then went out exploring. I checked out the National Archeological Museum, which was pretty amazing with the age of some of the stuff they had. Up to 5,000 years old some of the pottery and other knick knacks. Also
Avenue of the KnightsAvenue of the KnightsAvenue of the Knights

The road that all the Knights lived on. Each nationality had their own 'inn', where they lived, and each controlled a section of the wall.
the carved statues were pretty immense, and I liked the ones of the angry gods. 😊 Then it was off to do some fruit shopping and back to the hostel, where I sat around chatting to quite a few people, and I now have accomodation in Madrid if I want it! Gotta love the backpacker lifestyle. 😊

Tomorrow it's off to the Acropolis and Parthenon, and the rest of the touristy stuff in Athens, then the following morning I will be out of Athens and out into the countryside to check out the other side of Greece.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Grand Master's PalaceGrand Master's Palace
Grand Master's Palace

In Rhodes. Was one of the things that was closed, but apparently it was better from the outside anyway.
The walls and fortificationsThe walls and fortifications
The walls and fortifications

From the walk around the moat on the outside of the town.
Site of the Collosus of RhodesSite of the Collosus of Rhodes
Site of the Collosus of Rhodes

Supposedly each leg of the statue stood on each side and it towered about 30m high. But most people think it was built on land, despite what all the touristy stuff shows.
View from RuinsView from Ruins
View from Ruins

Down to the beach in Lindos.
View from the beachView from the beach
View from the beach

Up to the ruins above the town
The whole of LindosThe whole of Lindos
The whole of Lindos

From the bus out of town
In AthensIn Athens
In Athens

Wacky inflatable wacky flailing arm flailing tube man!
Sunset in Athens Sunset in Athens
Sunset in Athens

From the rooftop in my hostel, the Acropolis is a bit to the left.


13th May 2007

Arrrgh I miss Greece! We stayed on Crete which is a little less populated the mainland but the beaches and white wash buidings still bring back memories esp when we visited Santorini which was just a sea of white buildings on top of a massive cliff. Greece really is pretty. Oh, and I just found out yesterday that my brother's partner who is greek has just inherited a house on the island of Salamina which is a short ferry ride from Athens - how sweet is that? Definately have to go there, having ruins withdrawls!

Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 29; qc: 99; dbt: 0.1301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb