Home for the Next Few Months


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Paros
October 8th 2006
Published: October 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So it's been awhile since I've reported here. I've now been on the island for a week and I think I'm suited to this environment very well. Athens was beautiful, as far as ancient art and food, but dirty and crowded and tourist-y.
We left at the crack of dawn.... No, before the crack of dawn. The De La Soul show was the night before so I had zero sleep. (I danced on stage with De La and sang back up on "Me, Myself, and I" - it was the best night). The ferry ride was hell because I was exhausted, but heaven because of the sun rising over the sea and the live Greek music pouring from the musicians at the front of the boat. I slept sporadically.
When we arrived, it was so dramatic. We stood inside the ferry, the large metal door was lowering ever so slowly, a strange song was playing. No one knew what to expect. As the ferry docked and we unloaded, the first thing I noticed was the absolute clearest water I've ever EVER seen in my entire life. It is the color of emeralds and sapphires. Grey rocks, schools of fish, sea urchins, jellyfish... the smell of fresh herbs, hibiscus, sweet pea, and fresh air....
My apartment is across the bay from the school. It's ten minutes by bike. There's a bamboo tunnel, a field with horses, Mama's little barking dogs that I swear would rip me limb from limb if their little legs would lift them over the fence... I walk to the beach every single day and dive into the clear saltwater. One of the other students has been stung by a jellyfish and another received a nasty sea urchin wound. I've been lucky so far, no injury. Just refreshing. I love the taste of the salt in the sea. I love lying in the sand, baking.

I've met the most wonderful character here. Her name is Karen and she's Scottish. She's lived here for twenty years and she runs a bar very near the school. To describe her in one word: salty. She uses the words and "shite" a lot and calls everyone "cunt". She got me really, really drunk Friday night with a rousing game of Mexican. And then we went dancing with Elias (half Greek, half Italian with dreadlocks) and Dave (also Scottish - he leaves Tuesday and that's too bad). Elias had to drive me home on the back of his motorbike, because I was too drunk to ride my bike. What a guy. He also relieved my apartment of it's spider infestation. I had two spiders nesting there about the size my head. Also, there are millipedes which I loathe.

Yesterday, we went to Lefkes to "The Sanctum", a place the school provides for the students to meditate, it's a bus ride away. We took a group hike that was challenging to say the least, even though I am in the best physical condition I've been in for some time. I picked fresh oregano, sage, and thyme... some of which I will be bringing home for all of you chefs. I have been in a drawing frenzy. Mostly practicing negative space, contour drawings, and still lifes. I'm anxious to get started with figure drawing. All of my classes except for one are at six in the evening, so I have all day to laze about on the beach. Life is so good to me right now. I still miss Dr. Pepper and Mexican food, though.

I've written a few poems and a vignette,
On the FerryOn the FerryOn the Ferry

On my way to the island.
but it's a slow process for now.

I also made friends with a Brit named Vanessa.

I spent the evening picking up sea shells and sea glass on the beach and recovering from the previous night of debauchery.

Last night, the American students from the Helias school, also here in Paros, invited us to dinner and dancing. I skipped the dinner part, but went dancing with them at the Saloon (a club on the waterfront). After hours of this, Jess (one of my neighbors), Dave, Vanessa and I went to this Greek bar and danced the salsa.

Today is Sunday, I get to talk to my boys today. Hooray. More to come later. I'm going to step out and have some chocolate cream filled boklava.

Yasos.

Advertisement



9th October 2006

Vicarious Living
"I danced on stage with De La and sang back up on 'Me, Myself, and I'" WHAT. .: jealous :.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb