Beautiful isle of the sea, Smile on the brow of the waters.


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Naxos
June 29th 2007
Published: June 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

"Where are you from?"
"California."
Laughter ensues.....

This is a common conversation we have had here in Naxos, Greece. I guess people find humor in the fact that we are from California, land of bottle blondes and never ending beaches crowned with impossibly beautiful mansions..well at least that is their idea of it. Last night we were sitting near the port when two Norweigens, who were in the girl's words, "a wee bit drunk", came charging at us yelling "Callispera(Good night)". I think they were excited that they knew some words in Greek. They asked where we were from and when I answered the girl shrieked, "I LOVE THE O.C, THE O.C, THE O.C!". Oh shit I thought. That stupid show is what people think we are. I've seen the show once or twice and it is so over the top in it's plots that I can't see how anyone would find it close to reality. " Oh my god, do you know Marissa?" No I do not know Marissa because she is not real. "Oh my god, do you live in a house like that? In a MANSION???" No, I said, people don't all live in those. The boy started yelling "Come to Norway, Come to Norway, I love Americans!" I rather liked these drunk Norweigens.

Later that night we hung out with a guy from Turkey and then two guys, one from Naxos, the other from Albania. I was excited about all this because for once we had met people not from Canada...don't get me wrong I LOVE all the Canadians I've met...but it was pretty cool. Coming from Athens to Naxos was a refreshing transition. We came into port and I just fell head over heels. Naxos has its share of tourists but it is not over run with them. We are staying in Naxos Town which is quiet until it hits 9 at night and then everyone comes out now that the horrible sun has hid its head. Every night we have climbed the hill where the unfinished Temple to Apollo is, which looks like a frame for the sky, and we watch the sunset along with all the others that turn out. It's a completely meditative experience. I know that sounds very hippie of me, but really it makes you think sitting there on top of an island watching the sun dissolve into the golden blue sea.

We took a bus into the middle of the island to see Halki which was a dead as a doornail. No one there but an old man selling ice cream which of course we bought. But the 40 min. ride there made it worth it. The bus was playing Greek music which I find to be very Arabic and we saw the scenery change at least 5 times. I don't really know how to explain that scenery because it was nothing like where we were staying and it was nothing like what I have seen in my own life. It was a new land and it was seperated into non-symmetrical pieces by small rock walls full of cows, trees, or flowers. But it was a mostly bare green and brown land. It was suprising to see what lay beyond the beaches where our studio apartment is.

Now it is time to leave for Ios, the party island, and I am excited but I am going to miss it here. It went by so fast. Tonight we are going to a outside showing of Oceans 13. I feel as though Brad Pitt is one of my old and dearest friends because I seem to see him all the time. When school ended I watched Oceans 12 at home. Then I went to my friend Ana's and watched Seven Years in Tibet. At Casa Cares we watched An Interview with the Vampire and Snatch. And these are the only movies I've seen this summer. So Brad Pitt and I are meant to be. Without a doubt. Don't you see the signs?

I Digress: I had a dream last night that I was living in a 1984-esque world where a game was played which involved having ferrets thrown at me. Thinking about it now makes me heart want to explode with fear. Seriously it scared the hell out of me. I hate those things.


Advertisement



2nd July 2007

west coast girls are hip!!
Naxos sounds so wonderful, I would love to be on a bus singing greek songs!! Glad to hear you are dispeling the myth of the O.C. representing california girls....used to be the beach boys stereotype to deal with.... , Northern California rules anyway, from one previous OC girl....love mom

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb