Its nice to have a beach totally to ourselves...


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Mykonos
May 6th 2007
Published: May 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everyone,

We just wanted to make a quick entry so that we could include some pictures of Mykonos. It is absolutely amazing here! After we signed off yesterday, we rented a quad and have been touring around the island ever since. It is super cool to have total freedom to go wherever we want to. I have never done anything like this while travelling and it is such a thrill for both of us. We headed to this little quiet secluded beach yesterday after getting the quad called Kapari.

It was so amazingly beautiful and romantic. The sun was shining on the water in this little cove hidden away from the rest of the island. I fell asleep suntanning while Kim just relaxed but it was awesome.

Today (this is Kim speaking) we got up later, went to the supermarket (not so super like we have it, but very quaint) and got a big breakfast for super cheap. Croissants with apricot filling, gouda cheese, yoghurt (to die for, chunks of real peaches!), and some snacks for later. We ate it on our terrace outside our room here (that's right, we have a terrace). Then we took
The view from our roomThe view from our roomThe view from our room

Nice view huh? We like to think so..
off in our little blue quad (don't worry Mom, we both have helmets and it doesn't go very fast) to find a little beach called Agios Sostis on the far end of the island. We were all alone for a little while, but then more and more people came. There were still only 8 people there, but the goats took up some room too. Yep, goats with a shepherd herding them. We are going to grab some sugar (we both need it) and then head to our beach Kapari.

Two quick things: Mom, tell Debbie we found the Greece Starbucks bear, but they wouldn't let me buy it because they just opened and don't know the price of it, we will look on the other islands if we see a Starbucks.

Also, bridesmaids guess what? You all have found a dress now. Haha, Jessica looked again and found a beautiful one (but she almost picked the same one as you Elaine, but then remembered). Woot!

Miss you and love you all!

Kim and Dennis



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Little VeniceLittle Venice
Little Venice

This is little Venice in Mykonos, so beautiful. The Venetians took over the island way back when, and you can definitely see the influence. We ate dinner just down the way.
DelosDelos
Delos

Dennis forgot his hockey equipment at home. This is the gymnasium (locker room we think) at the sacred island of Delos.
Kapari Beach'Kapari Beach'
Kapari Beach'

Our beautiful little beach we discovered. It was about 6:00 when this picture was taken and we still had our bathing suits on suntanning!
San Stefanos BeachSan Stefanos Beach
San Stefanos Beach

This is the beach right in front of our hotel. Kim refused to go in further than her toes (it was mighty cold). It sure looks warmer than it is. See the matching bathing suit that matches both Susie and Elaine's.
Hora Hora
Hora

Hora is the town of Mykonos. It's called Mykonos too, but for some reason all the main towns on each island are called Hora first, then their island name. Therefore.. this is Hora (Mykonos). We assume it means city or something.


6th May 2007

... um Dennis...
Hockey's not untill Wednesday Dennis... you're a few days early... And Kim I thought the same thing when I saw that picture... hehehe Mmmmmm... beaches in Greece you lucky ducks. :) Kim is Dennis letting you drive? When Dean and I rented our skooter in the Gulf Islands and I drove it made Dean very nervous... made me giggle. :)
6th May 2007

It's nice to have a beach...
Wow! This is such an awesome way to share your travels. It sure beats sending postcards which usually arrive home AFTER you do. I've printed everything out, even the pictures so I can share them with Baba. She will be so thrilled! Just one piece of news from home - I have a part-time job at SEPHORA! Love you both, Terri and Baba
6th May 2007

Wow
Great to hear from you. Glad you are having a great time, keep sending the info we love to get it and love to get back to you about it. Glad you have helmets for the quad, glad you have transportation, makes your mom feel better Kim. Looks like Dennis is getting a little burned there. The paper says Greece is 30 and sunny so it's probably hotter there. For Dennis, Ottawa beat out New Jersey on to the next round, Vancouver is out.
7th May 2007

Im turning green..........
It looks like you guys are having tons of fun together! Today was hot here in deadmonton, but not as nearly hot as it is in Greece, im sure!! I can't wait to read where you're off to, next!!
7th May 2007

great
Hey Kim and Dennis! Great to read your travelstories and see the pictures! It really looks pretty, and just like the travelbooks and pictures you think of with Greece. I've never been there actually(even thought its 'close'), but I like to go there once too. I hope you will enjoy the rest of your holiday, and I will read the next blogs! Take care and enjoy! -x- Ceciel
8th May 2007

HEY YOU TWO!
Well well...looks like you are having too much fun, I think I might need to quit school and come hang out. I finally had some time today ( my school had a bomb threat and we were all evacuated so I got to come home early!!) hahaha doesnt sound funny but for some reason it didnt seem like a big deal until right now when I just typed it. Anyways I decided to sit down and read all of your blogs and I got really excited. I can't wait to hear the rest of your adventures. Say hello to your future husband for me. Oh you know who you remind me of? The girl in sisterhood of the traveling pants that goes to Greece? Rory from gilmore girls??? Anyways have fun and be safe...but if there is something that is fun that is not safe..do it anyways. ps. Darren and I are really excited for your wedding and we might be going to Cuba right before. Ohh and I come home on like June 27 or something like that. Anyways see you soon!
8th May 2007

Just cought up (read some somin somin)
Hey guys looks like your having fun. You are in my prayers. Please keep us in your prayers too. I won't be able to be at the next game b/c of Confirmation :( Oh well I hope they win. But anywho guys I am glad you are enjoying yourselves!
10th May 2007

ME SO JEALOUS!
wow greece looks just as beautiful as I have always imagined it, and you guys seem to be having the time of your life! We miss you guys soooo much here. Lifeteen is not the same without you!(and we all know Mike's minutes were HORRIBLE! haha) Eat a gyro for me! Me miss them sooo much!

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0703s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb