Damn Greek Trains


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Pelopennese » Nafplion
March 22nd 2010
Published: April 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

ATHENS Day 61



Oh the trains, the trains, the trains. Greece really has the worst trains. Now, I understand that they have a decent bus network but I have purchased a train pass for all of Europe and so I have no intention of spending more money for transportation especially when one day trip from Athens to somewhere near by is 15euro each way! So I was stubborn and went with the train to Nafpilion, being one of the few places accessible by train. Unfortunately, the train runs there only every 4 hours and takes 3 hours to get there so when I finally made it I had 40 minutes to jump off the train and see a little bit before I had to get back on or risk waiting the 4 hours for the last train back and possibly miss my connection to Athens and be stuck somewhere between Nafpilion and Athens. So I didn’t get to see much of Nafpilion at all but it looked really promising.

PIREAUS Day 62



Today I hop back on to the ferry to try out one of Athens’ many islands. It was so hard to pick one island to go to. I was torn between Crete and Santorini. I went with Crete because it is the larger of the two and I had 4 days to spend on the island so I figured I could cover some decent ground on Crete.

My ferry arrived in the city of Iraklion at 10pm. I went straight to the hostel that was listed on the internet as open 24/7. But I got there and it was closed right down. I called my back up hostel, actually a cheap hotel, and they had a room left for me. So I hopped in a taxi and booked it up to the hotel, which was just outside of the main town.

I got in to bed and was super tired. My whole body hurt and I was freezing cold.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.321s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.081s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb