Nafplio Day 2


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Pelopennese » Nafplion
November 5th 2018
Published: November 5th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I spent the morning at the site of the Asklepios sanctuary in ancient Epidavros. It’s about a 40 minute drive from Nafplio where I’m staying. The site is famous today for its extremely well-preserved Greek theater from the 4 century B.C. Considering the theater is older by several hundred years than the many Roman ruins I’ve seen in my travels, it does look really good. And it continues to be used today for theatrical and musical performances. On the way back to town, I drove up to the looming Palamidi Fortress that overlooks Nafplio. There isn’t anything to do up there, but the views are good, both of the the town and the Aegean Sea. For lunch I went to one of the many waterfront restaurants and had a Greek salad that was very good - well, it should be. Afterward I just wandered around town. I stopped in a couple of tiny museums. One specializes in komboloi (worry beads). The museum tells how strings of beads have been used for religious purposes or centuries, starting with Buddhism and including the rosaries employed by Catholics. Apparently Greece is unique in the fact that its citizens use komboloi for no particular religious purpose, but just because they like them. Nafplio is a pleasant resort town and I’m glad I had a chance to visit here. I’m coming to the end of this particular trip (RTW2) and tomorrow is a travel day, but I’ll have another couple of blog postings before I’m done.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb