Festivals and Parties - Chios


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » North Aegean » Chios
March 11th 2008
Published: March 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

There are many Cretans living in Chios and they have a radio program each week playing Cretan music. Rena's friend works at the station and organized a party to celebrate their 300th programming. Lucky for me, we got invited to the party. I got a little taste of Cretan dancing. Funny is really looks like River Dance. The dance is all leg work and no upper body movement. My friends made fun of me because I was moving my upper body and they told me I dance like a loose girl. Well, few years of Salsa dancing will do that to you. I can't help moving my hips.

Christina had suggested that I go to Greece around this time because there were several festivals. I was pleasantly surprised to see people walking around in costumes, and did not realize that all of Greece was celebrating a week long Halloween like festival called Apokries. I've also attended a few festivals in villages around Chios. Where they have mockup up Byzantine style courts and make fun of the current government, policies, Greek life. These festivals were celebration for the beginning of Lent, I believe it is something in the tradition of carnival.
Cretean PartyCretean PartyCretean Party

Createan party organized by the Cretean radio station on Chios





Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb