Zakythos!


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Zakynthos
June 24th 2007
Published: June 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last time I updated I was in Athens, I believe! We ended up having a great time with family friends that evening. It was so neat to meet my Yiayia's friend.

The next morning we woke up and went shopping. Later we went to Syntagma Square and got to see the changing of the guards. Afterwards, we ate and shopped at Plaka. Family friend time again, we met up for ice cream. THis place had a nice night view of the Acropolis. 😊

The next day we woke up and left for Zakythos at 11. A taxi, bus, boat, bus, and another bus ride later, we were at our hotel at 9 pm just in time for dinner and ... bed! 😊

Zakythos is ridiculously gorgeous ....but EXTREMELY hot. Today it was the hottest it's been in a while apparently, it reached over 110 degrees. We went to church at St. Dionysius, which has him there! It was a beautifully ornate church, but really crowded (and full of old ladies. and really hot). It was worth it, though, because they opened the Agios for us and I saw him. He died in 1622 and I saw his face! With skin! It was the most amazing experience of my life and I couldn't believe the amazing miracle it is. I'm so lucky and thankful that I got to see the Saint I was named after.

After church it was time for lunch and we took a walk and saw Yiayia's old school. We also stopped in for a quick visit to the Dionysius Solomos museum as well. We didn't get enough heat walking around at that time (hah) so we decided to head to the beach and pool. The beach was beautiful and clean (and I saw little fishies swimming in the ocean!!!!1!).

Well it's about 1312324 degrees in the computer room here and my time is almost up so I better go, but I'm sure I"ll have more time to update, seeing that we're doing absolutely nothing tomorrow except relaxing. 😊


Love to everyone! 😊

Advertisement



26th June 2007

I'm going to guess that Yiayia means 'grandma'? Because that's what the girl in SotTP called her grandmother. LOL. You saw the dead saint? I've never seen a dead person before, you know. Let alone one that died so many years ago. How interesting.

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb