Day 62


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
November 7th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 62

This morning, since I didn’t get to sleep until about 3am last night, I slept in till just before 12noon. When I got up, I heard scuttling around starting close to 10am, and figured it was just Lisa getting back from Jerry’s. But when I came into the kitchen, turns out it was Isabelle working on her Greek homework units, catching up to my unit, because her Paris trip kinda sidetracked her. So I washed up, and made us lunch; I grilled some frozen chicken nuggets and boiled frozen brussel sprouts we had in the freezer. It was perfect because we have to get rid of our frozen foods by the end of this month anyway! It only took about 15 minutes and we watched some of ‘The OC’. After lunch, we got changed and went to the beach for an hour.

We got to the beach just after 1pm and tanned in the nice hot sun till 2pm, when we walked to Neil’s to help prep for dinner. He wanted help rolling out the doughs for the tortiere (French Canadian meat pie) he was making for our dinner tonight. So I helped him to make the dough and Isabelle rolled them out. There wasn’t enough filling for all the dough he made, so I volunteered, since he had spare fruit cocktail lying around, to make small fruit-filled roll-ups for dessert. My grandma taught me to hand-fold dumplings every New Years, as a yearly tradition, so I’m hoping to use my 22 years of dumpling experience to make a small dessert tonight.

We left Neil’s just after 3:30pm, the clouds were over the mountain, so we didn’t go back to the beach and instead headed back and changed to go for a run. It was cooler and the perfect weather for a run, so we grabbed Jenn and went for a run until 5pm. We took it slow because my lungs weren’t feeling the best from last night and stopped by Lionitus’ grocery store at the end of our run, before we stretched to grab ketchup for the tortiere tonight and a dozen eggs for crepes tomorrow morning. We stretched along the beach, then walked back to our place, stopping by Neil’s with our purchases and showered at our places. Isabelle made me and her each a piece of toast with cheese and tomato on top. It was a delicious snack. She did some Greek homework, while I caught up on emails and my blog, before we had to go over to Neil’s at 7pm to help with the rest of the tortiere prep.

Just after 7pm we headed down to Neil’s with Jenn. He had the 2 pies, the other pie we made he had promised to Hettie, in the oven when we got there and I started on the dessert. I had separated 10 balls from the leftover dough earlier in the afternoon and so I moistened them with water since they were in the fridge, and pressed them out. I filled them with the fruit cocktail compote Neil made for me during the day and that hardened in the fridge. I folded the small fruit-filled patties in triangles and we baked them with the rest of the pies. Gioria arrived just past 7:30pm, from the Athens ferry, and we broke out some olives, hummus Neil made for tonight, and he pan fried some pita. Jerry and Lisa got to the PP at 8pm, and we started our little feast; the meat pies were pretty good, Isabelle and Neil, our French Canadians, poured insane amounts of ketchup on top of their pies, while the rest of us dipped some of it to taste. It was a nice lighter-meal than last night, and we finished it off with my dessert tarts that turned out pretty well and Jerry brought some, of what he claims to be, the ‘best’ chocolate in Greece. I’m not a big fan of milk chocolate, so I found it too sweet and creamy. We ended the night by roasting pumpkin seeds with pepper, salt, paprika, olive oil, and garlic powder, and watched ‘Star Wars’ episode 5.

I got home just before midnight, washed up, changed and skyped with my family and my boyfriend before bed. It might be the last time I talk to them before I head off to Paris! I’m so stoked! 3 more weeks till I’m back home. Yay!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb