Aghios Nikolaos - last port of call


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Crete » Knossos
September 2nd 2009
Published: September 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Knossos PalaceKnossos PalaceKnossos Palace

This is what the facade of the Palace is thought to have looked like, colour and all.
Location: Aghios Nikolaos and Knossos
Weather: Sunny, 27 °C

Last tender trip into town for the cruise, it is nice to arrive in port by a boat rather than just walking down a gang way - adds some excitement to the process. Aghios Nikolaos is a pretty port town, the shops circle the port and boy did I do some shopping! All throughout the cruise I have looked at the jewellery in the various ports visited - I have wanted to buy something but have not seen the right something. Well in Aghios Nikolaos I saw two items that I loved and had to have - a beautiful coral evil eye bracelet and Minoan Bee earrings.

The day would have not have been complete without an organised tour - in the morning I visited the Palace of Knossos. I have to say that this was the worst tour of the whole cruise and I guess I was more disappointed about this one because it was the main site I wanted to see for the cruise. On the whole each activity I have selected has been fantastic; the locations interesting and the guides have been great. The guide for Knossos
Knosso FrescoKnosso FrescoKnosso Fresco

Replica of Knossos Palace fresco, men were dark as they worked outside while women were pale as they stayed indoors.
was no different, he was informative and interesting. What was disappointing was the fact the Knossos was so crowded. At one stage I even thought to get a taxi and leave on my own. Every aspect of the site had queues of people lined up to view an item - I simply was not interested in standing in one line and then another for 30 minutes at a time - the sunburn alone was not worth the effort. Later when I got back to the ship Kathy told me that when she and Dad came in late September there was hardly anyone there - my advice, if there are cruise ships in town avoid Knossos. The highlight of the trip into Knossos was spotting the mountain goats along the side of the roads and up the mountains. Crete it appears is one giant Olive grove! Olives, windmills and goats.

Amy



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Knossos Bull SymbolKnossos Bull Symbol
Knossos Bull Symbol

Bull symbol is important for the minoans as it was a symbol of life and strength.


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb