Last Day in Santorini/Ferry to Crete


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Crete » Heraklion
July 7th 2012
Published: July 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today was a very good day. I set out in the morning for Oia (ee-yah), which is just up the coast from Fira. This town is the complete opposite of Fira. Where Fira is busy and extremely touristy, Oia is truly quaint, laid-back, and the type of place where you could spend a week just sitting and admiring the view. I can honestly say that this is probably my favorite town in all of Greece. The views are so incredible that no words can describe them. It's a magical, wonderful town, and I think I could live there. Donkeys still carry goods across the cobblestone streets and I had the unique experience of having an ass's ass in my face while I was trying to eat. Strange and disturbing, to say the least. I'm just glad it didn't feel the need to go to the bathroom!

From Oia I went back to Fira, about a 20 minute bus drive, and had a very long coffee in the afternoon until being taken down to the harbor at around 5ish. Caught the same catamaran I took to Santorini down to Crete, which was about a 2 hour ride. Not bad, especially when
Out to the Open SeaOut to the Open SeaOut to the Open Sea

This is where I had lunch, and where the ass stood in my way!
you consider how remove Crete seems. Got to Iraklio at around 8.

Staying at the Hotel Kastro, a sleek, modern place right in the center of town. I'm starting to feel incredibly out-there, in that just the name, "Crete," seems like I'm on a completely different planet. Africa is just across the sea!!!!! And Egypt. It's just about time to enter a whole other world!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Another Beautiful Church Another Beautiful Church
Another Beautiful Church

I wouldn't mind going to services in this church.
Blinding White Blinding White
Blinding White

The white is so bright in the sun that I couldn't even see what I was taking a picture of through the camera.
Rocks in front of ChurchRocks in front of Church
Rocks in front of Church

I want to live in Oia.


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0222s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb