Vergina


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Central Macedonia » Vergina
July 29th 2014
Published: August 3rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today I took a day trip to the museum that houses the tombs of Alexander the Greats father and son. It is a cool place - the museum is actually built around the actual tombs, so they are in situ. There were no photos allowed, however, so none of the coolness is shown here. It was a long day trip for somewhere so close - the bus connections were bad. I had to take a bus to the bus station (30 min). Got right on the bus to Veria (60 min). Had an hour wait for the bus to Vergina (about 40 min). I was dropped off practically at the museum, so that was easy, but I'm glad I had asked in Veria about buses back, as there were not many. I arrived at 12pm and was done by 1:30pm, as the ruins behind the museum were not open. But the museum itself was great - there were so many amazing things found in the tombs, made of gold and silver. It's amazing what royalty took with them to the next world. The next bus left at 2:45pm. I spent some time with an Israeli family who bought me an ice cream as we stood around in the hot day. We started walking back to the bus stop at 2:35 and saw a bus. Made a run for it and it was the 2:45pm bus, 10 minutes early. We got on and we drove back to Veria. Lucky to have made it. That started the cycle of bus rides back that eventually got me back home after 5pm. I'm glad a colleague at work recommended coming here, and there were many other places around I would have liked to have seen, but without a car, it was just too time consuming to see them all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.1153s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb