Thessaloniki


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Central Macedonia » Thessaloniki
February 27th 2007
Published: March 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Megas AlexanderMegas AlexanderMegas Alexander

This statue of Alexander the Great is one of the great sites along the promenade. On most days one can watch seagulls and kites fly around his head while skateboarders play at his feet.
Thessaloniki is a very interesting place to live. Interesting in many respects one being its own name. I first learned of the curious origins of its appellation from the cab driver on my first journey from the airport. He was enthusiastic to say the least about his city. He thrust his finger forcefully at various sites of interest, describing their histories in broken English. I sat in the back with another student in my program. We both clutched our luggage and attempted to take in the city flashing past us. “Mt. Olympus! You see?” He threw is hand out in the direction of the water. We looked out the window trying to find this mystical wonder, but too late we watched it slip behind apartment buildings. Little black balconies on ten story structures replaced majestic water and distant mountains. My new friend and I, crammed into the back seat, nodded in the affirmative not wanting to douse his excitement with our confusion. “Highest mountain in Greece! In the entire Balkans!” He held his hands up to demonstrate its greatness as we squealed to a halt in order to dodge a motorcycle. Holding his hands up in a different gesture he yelled
SunsetSunsetSunset

Sunset on the promenade. It is about a ten minute walk for me to get here. On clear days I can see Mt. Olympus.
something in Greek, but nothing seemed to curb his conversation. He moved fluidly back to local history. “It is, what you call, what you call,” he repeated searching for the right words in English, “home of the gods!” he shouted in appreciation of his terminological discovery. “Thessaloniki, the name, you know?” (Another affirmative nod from us in the back.) “Thessaloniki, it’s a woman’s name!” He stared at us in the review mirror, waiting to see if we new anything more about his statement. “The city was named for Alexander the Great’s sister.” He uttered this statement in a calculated manner. We received another stare from the mirror; I think he was checking to see if we were in as much awe as he thought we should be, and to give him credit I was. Later I read more about this and true enough, Thessaloniki was named after Alexander’s half-sister in 315 BC. I can’t remember much of that journey that day to my new home; I expect it had something to do with twenty-two hours of travel and the overwhelming pressure of my first entrance into Thessaloniki. I can’t recall the roads we traveled that day but I know I
TreeTreeTree

This is just a pic of one of the seemingly only trees in Thessaloniki. It is in the courtyard opposite the rotunda where I walk by every day.
won’t forget that cab driver and his love for his home.

Advertisement



8th March 2007

Pictures
Hi Carolyn, thanks for the beautiful pictures and it is great to hear from you. I can imagine what a wonderful time you are having. I'm happy things are going well for you there. I pray for you often and look forward to seeing more pictures when you get home. luv ya, Nancy R.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb