Sounio - Temple of Poseidon


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Cape Sounion
March 13th 2008
Published: March 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I took a day trip to Sounio where the temple of Poseidon stood. There was a metro strike, so I had to walk all the way to Mavromateon Terminal to catch the bus to Sounio. I have to say, I've traveled extensively and I am not that bad with directions, but I had a hard time finding the bus stop for the Sounio bus. Asking for direction can be quite daunting, as most people don't know what they are talking about. I was turning around the bus terminal, looking around and asking people where the bus stop is. There is not ticket booth that sells the ticket, you pay once you are on board. Kind of reminds me of Thailand.

It took about two and a half hours to get there. I hardly felt the time pass, as I fell asleep on the way there. I tried to stay awake because the bus drove along the coast, so you can see the sea line during the entire trip. Once there, it was well worth the trip. I can image how Lord Byron fell in love with this place. I can sit there for hours staring at the sea. It was a nice sunny day, and there were only a few visitors, thus it was really an ethereal sensation of tranquility. I wanted to stay and see the sunset, but I had a dinner back in Athens, and I did not want to be late. Moreover, I did not want to miss the bus and be stranded there. Next time, I am definitely planning on staying for the sunset.

For some reason the bus did not take the same route going back to Athens. Moreover, with the metro strike, traffic was crazy and I did not get back into Athens until 9PM at night. I really chose a very good time to visit Greece. Strikes galore! Funny how Athens reminds me more of an Asian city than a European city. I guess it is more Mediterranean.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb