Gyros contain all 4 food groups


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
April 29th 2005
Published: April 29th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey peeps,
Pia here, writing from Athens, where it is ridiculously hot and not quite as dirty as we expected. Time is short and internet is costly, so here's a quick summary of what's been happening:

-We parted ways with our travel buddy Jim, but not before one last fabulous night out dancing at, oddly enough, an "Irish pub" in Santorini. At point I leaned over and asked Jim if traditional Irish pubs blast Beyonce and charge 5 euro for a beer...he looked at me with disgust in his eyes, so I took that as a no.
-Made our way to Crete (I saw a dolphin during the ferry ride!) and after less than one day in Iraklio, booked it out of there and bussed to Sitia, a small little town about three hours a way. We stayed at this wonderful little pension run by a sweet German lady who gave us "welcome" ouzo, and spent a few days hitting the beach, reading, and eating Nutella ice cream. 'Nuff said. Oh, except that one day when we were sitting by the harbour, some creepy guy came up to us, stroked Liz's face, and then gave us each a bottle of hotel shampoo. It seems like there should be more of an explanation, but there really isn't.
-Took a 16 (yes, you read that right) hour ferry ride to Athens, which was fairly uneventful except for one horrific incident with a little Greek child who walked up to our seats, picked up a piece of paper that was sitting on the table, and shoved it into his mouth. Liz tried to stop him, because she didn't want him to choke, and he started SPITTING at her. Just...spitting! She was freaking out and I was doubled over, laughing so hard I couldn't breathe, and then he fixed his eyes (and saliva) on me, and it suddenly wasn't so funny. So, he was spitting and trying to swipe my book (Douglas Coupland; at least the brat had good taste) and people were pointing and laughing but not doing ANYthing. I tried to pick him up and throw him somewhere away from us, but as soon as I touched him, he started shrieking at the top of his lungs. Finally, his mother showed up and started whacking him on the butt, and a few minutes later we heard him crying, which made us feel a little better. Ugh...children.
-Arrived in Athens, and somehow made our way on and off the metro and found a nice little hostel/hotel to stay at. We spent yesterday wandering around the city -- went to the National Archeological museum, which was very cool, although we were disappointed that the Egyptian display was closed. While we were eating lunch, another creepy (extremely old) man came up to us and tried speaking to me in Greek...I kept telling him I didn't speak Greek, which he somehow took as an invitation to sit down next to us and, like, rub our arms. Ew.
-So, today we're going to check out the Acropolis with a couple of other Canadians we met at our hostel, and then tomorrow night we're headed to Italy, where we will revel in gelato, wine, and pizza. And then not be able to fit into our jeans. Huzzah!

Cheers,
Pia


Advertisement



2nd May 2005

Wow
I totally didnt know they made nutella ice cream! wow! the things you think you know.... - Patrick
2nd May 2005

Pita Bread?
So, last night I had an interesting dream... I was in 'The Real Canadian Superstore' shopping with Vanessa, and she was telling me about how you were all mad at me because I had a habit of taking papers and crumpling them up into little balls. Vanessa told me she was mad because it was annoying. She also told me that Pia was mad because she thought I had an obsessive compulsive disorder. Thanks Pia. Anyways, so we're walking around in Superstore, and we see you two running around trying to hide from store clerks, in a manner somewhat reminiscent of the 'gap game.' You were both wearing clothes out of a material that looked like burlap, and I'm pretty sure we could smell you from across the store. Although it probably wasn't the smartest move, Vanessa and I both gasped out loud, 'WHAT!! They snuck back into the country!!' You came over to quite us, and told us that you absolutely had to come back to Canada because you needed pita bread. pita bread? And I'm sorry to say that the two of you had gained quite a bit of weight, and had terrible sunburns. You're cheeks literally looked like ripe red tomatoes. That being said, I was happy to read your adventurous reports this morning and hear that you are both doing well. I'm so dang jealous of you right now! - Jen Rawlings
1st July 2005

hi girls

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb