Flight to Athens


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
June 14th 2012
Published: June 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Absolutely insane amount of travel today. Left Selcuk by 8, catching the direct train back up to Izmir's international airport. I got there really early so I was able to bump my flight nearly 2 hours ahead. Seems like a promising start, right?

So I landed in Istanbul by noon. However, once I finally made it to the Turkish Airlines desk, the early flight I was hoping to catch had literally just left. My scheduled flight, and the only other flight for the day, was at 7:25. So I had a long lay-over. The nice thing, though, is that Istanbul's airport is basically like a giant mall. There's even a hotel. They have tons of restaurants, shops, Starbucks, you name it. So there wasn't any shortage of things to do.

But, once I had waited all day, my flight was delayed until about 7:50. Then there was a long wait to take off, and we really didn't get going until 8:30ish. The flight was only an hour though. Then just got some Euros (the exchange rate is the best I've ever had!) and caught a bus to Syntagma Square. Checked in at 11:30ish to an awesome place, the Hotel Kimon right in the old part of town. A great room, too - I even have a little balcony with a table. I'm back in Europe!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0699s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb