Heading off for 3 weeks in Greece - Boston to Athens


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
July 18th 2011
Published: November 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I was heading off to Greece with my friends Steve and Rachel (who are cousins). Our flight was out of Logan on Swiss Air at 9:40pm. We grabbed a bite to eat at Boston Beer Works in Terminal E, which is somewhat of a intrenational travel tradition for me, and then settled in to wait until boarding was called. We had a slight delay after boarding while the customs police pulled a couple passengers off the plane and their luggage too due to “cash money problems”. Hmmmm interesting.

So the first part of the flight was uneventful. Steve and Rachel sat in the two seat window/aisle combo and I sat across and slightly behind them in a three seat section next to a really nice couple who were on their honeymoon. They were heading to Santorini for a week and then on to Lake Cuomo Italy for another week. I talked to them for a little while then dozed off, which was my master plan to pass most if not all of the flight to Zurich. A couple hours into the flight I woke up with terrible stomach pains. It seriously felt like I had food poisoning! I had cold sweats and was nauseous and woozy. I just toughed it out since I didn’t want to cause concern on the flight as I hate being the center of attention. Thankfully after an hour or two it mostly passed and I tried to just sleep as much as possible. I even passed on the in flight meal and that is just not like me to pass on food! I did end up watching the movie Limitless with Bradley Cooper and it was pretty good.

We got to Zurich at 10:50am local time, just slightly late, but had no trouble clearing passport control. I finally felt good enough to eat something and grabbed a cinnamon roll, which was actually pretty delicious. The gate area was really crowded, so we sat on the floor to wait for our flight to Athens. Steve was exhausted from not sleeping on the plane so he stretched o on the floor and tried to snooze. They called our flight and we took a bus out to the plane. We ran into this guy from the Boston area (he recognized our accents) on the bus that was really loud and obnoxious – yikes he had a huge thing against Mayor Menino apparently and wasn’t shy about saying so at great length. We had seats at the front of this plane as opposed to the first flight where we were literally all the way at the back of the plane. This flight also had a meal and went pretty quickly; about 2 hours and 45 minutes to Athens.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb