FINAL day in Athens and of my 3 week adventures:)


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
April 16th 2009
Published: April 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

April 16, 2009
Sarah and I are on our way back to the UK today! Our alarms went off at 7ish and we were out the door by 8. We stopped at the bakery down the street, one last time and I FINALLY got something that wasn’t soaked in syrup! I had great stuff before, but it always was soaked in sugar and VERY heavy. I could never finish it.
We came back, checked out and then started to Syntagma square to catch our airport shuttle bus. It took a pretty decent walk, especially with our backpacks and purses, but we made it and hopped right on the shuttle. We even got away without buying a ticket too. Take that ATHENS!
The shuttle took us right where it was supposed too, the one and only airport in Athens, which is gigantic. We got to the airport and then went to find check-in. We both got our bags checked, which was so nice not having to carry them around while we waited for our flight. We went to find our gate and get some coffee. Athens airport is very weird. Usually they have food and shops and all that jazz after security, so you can sit by your gate until boarding. This airport, their is NOTHING beyond security except chairs. Good thing Sarah and I caught on to this before we checked in. We needed COFFEE! The shuttle took us right where it was supposed too, the one and only airport in Athens, which is gigantic. We got to the airport and then went to find check-in. We both got our bags checked, which was so nice not having to carry them around while we waited for our flight. We went to find our gate and get some coffee. Athens airport is very weird. Usually they have food and shops and all that jazz after security, so you can sit by your gate until boarding. This airport, their is NOTHING beyond security except chairs. Good thing Sarah and I caught on to this before we checked in. We needed COFFEE! I bought a Twix and a coffee, which was around 4 Euro. We had nothing better to do, so then headed for security. We got through, went to our gate, and then were told that we had to wait at a different gate until a previous flight was done boarding. So confusing and so different! I caught up on my blogs until 30 minutes before our flight took off. Go figure, our flight was late so we took off late as well. The flight was 3 ½ hours long. I got lunch on the plane which cost 6 pounds😊The money switching that I do! They offered Euros, but I had a pocket full of change…
When we landed we had a 5 hour layover in London Gatwick. We got our backpacks which made it just fine and then went to check them in again because we flew through a different airline. Once again no problems. We came upon this restaurant with decent prices and I had a HUGE caramel latte and some chips and dip. It cost around 5 pounds. We hung out there for a bit and then moved on. Since we had so much time, we wandered and wanted to find our gate so we knew how to get there later. When we looked at the screen, our flight wasn’t there. We started panicking and then were told that we had to go to the South Terminal. It turns out you need to take a free shuttle from the North to the South terminal here in London. We hopped on and then found our flight. YAY!! London also likes to wait until the last minute before they tell you what gate to go to, so it was a constant looking at the board to make sure we didn’t miss our flight. London waited till the absolute last 10 minutes before our plane was scheduled to leave before telling us which gate to go to. We got there, got on our flight and headed back to Aberdeen. The flight was about an hour. Since I’ve been sick, my ear pressure on flights has been WAY off. I was in extreme pain for a while, but soon they popped and I felt better. We landed, got our backpacks once again without a problem and then got a cab back to Hillhead, which cost about 7 pounds a piece. Right when I got back, I plugged my computer in, got easy internet, emptied my backpack and then talked to my parents and Nate. I headed for some much needed sleep and was out😊




Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb