Safe and Sound and on the Ground


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
March 20th 2008
Published: March 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, I've touched down and am now typing from my hostel in Athens. The flights went ok, if you like that sort of thing. The food and drinks were good and we didn't crash, so I call that a success. I had a few anxious moments...but we won't go into that now.

After getting in at two in the morning I had a little nap at the airport - rated as one of the best airports for sleeping, by the way - and then took the bus to central Athens and walked the rest of the way to my hostel. There is a strike going on here, and the metro isn't running, but this sites seem pretty concentrated near the area I'm staying so I'm not too concerned. After sitting all those hours on the plane the walking will do me good!

My plan for the day is to visit the Acropolis, and so I'll try to send an update later on this evening. I've got lots of interesting facts on Greece too - like Athens serving the most expensive coffee in the EU - but that will also have to wait.

My love and thanks to everyone and all their prayers and hopes for a safe journey here.

And, of course, Happy Birthday, Dad!!

Advertisement



21st March 2008

glad you got there alright
and thank you for the Happy Birthday. I'm packing for the trip to Orlando. I'll take my computer so I can keep up with your blog. It was good to talk with you today. I'll make sure to book mark the blog for Mom. I guess you'll be reading this on Friday morning, Good Morning. I'll email you later today or Saturday. And, of course, I'll have my cell phone on. Love, Dad
23rd March 2008

Hi!
Wow, I'm so glad you're there, and safe and having a great time! I love your blog picture, btw. Very chic. *hugs*

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0206s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb