Beer and Birthday Cake


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
September 7th 2007
Saved: January 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Aloha,

It's 6 am here and I'm about to relay to you the story, before I forget it.

Of beer and birthday cake, in Athens.

Vanessa and I headed out tonight to the birthday party for one of the sons of a couchsurfer. It was the strangest birthday party I've ever been to.... There were 2 kids, and the rest were couchsurfers. It's strange being so multicultural, we sang the Happy Birthday song 3 (and a half) times in three different languages. I met a ton of CSer's there, some folks had hosted 150+ people in two years... it's crazy. The Couchsurfing community here in Athens is very, very tight.

Because of the Greek culture, drinking is pretty much, yeah, whenever, and so the table was laid out with some home cooked Greek food, but we were chasing the birthday cake with Heineken, which I can't say I've done before.

After that a group of us headed off to a bar, for a goodbye party for a CSer, a cyclist who was moving to Amsterdam (yeah, so sad, huh ;p) because Greeks will basically just smack into you if you're on anything less than four wheels. Amsterdam is a bit more cycling friendly.

Anywho, I met probably 15 or 20 Couchsurfers tonight, and apparently the Istanbul Couchsurfing community is very active, and they had a cross-cultural meet... the Athens CSer's went to Istanbul for four days, where two of the members fell in love, and so when they had a meet with the Istanbuli CSer's in Athens, they also had a wedding party.

Pretty groovy.

After that bar a smaller group of us headed off to some tiny little techno joint. I'm not into techno, but I didn't have much choice, because I had to stay up until 5am for the Metro to open up again so I could get home. They place was actually quite fun when the DJ put on good songs, but we were also treated to a back to back rendition of "Can't Touch This," paired up with the classic "Ice, Ice, Baby," in full, Euro-techno remixed glory. I couldn't make this stuff up folks.

Anyway, I'm back home again, and going to catch some sleep.

Ciao folks,

Tristan

COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

9th September 2007

TECHNO!!! *unst, unst, unst, unst...* *cue strobe lights* hehe. :D

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0756s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb