Acropolis and the Temple of Poseidon


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
June 8th 2018
Published: June 11th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Jack and I were very industriously made it to the ticket line of the Acropolis well before the 8 a.m. opening. Our walkabout concluded as the over-crowding of the ancient ruins with tour groups commenced. My impression of the Parthenon and other temples of the Acropolis is that I have retained so little ancient history, that a refresher lesson is highly in order. Travel has awakened my brain to language and culture unlike my job and graduate school.



Today was a day of highs and lows. They high being the overlook of Athens from the Acropolis. They low being a slide down some wet marble steps leading to the Ancient Agora. Jack manage to lug me to a taxi and then back to the hotel for a once-over by a kind Greek doctor. Just a sprain. The very good doctor prescribed an afternoon by the rooftop pool of our hotel. I like his holistic approach to medicine.



In the evening, Makis drove us on a one hour ride (which was really about two hours) to Sounion to the Temple of Poseidon, a 5thcentury ruin for the sunset. Serenity.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1197s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb