Eat Like A Food Writer


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens » Pláka
August 25th 2022
Published: August 25th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Most of us who are foodies know these things. But Food Travelist has listed them, just in case you did not get the memo. Who sent the memo? The ghost of Tony Bourdain, or Julia Child? Mr. Bizarre Foods, Andrew Zimmern? Beat Bobby Flay? Look for the lines Yes, the longest line usually means the best food. Or get there earlier tomorrow? Ask waiters and cabbies Just beware, they could be on the "payroll" of a restaurant. I always talk to the hotel people, and I shall reveal a secret, which you may find rather sensitive. I always ask a person of color for a local spot. Go for lunch Generally, it is cheaper than dinner. And the portions are more manageable. Lunch may also offer a "fixed price" menu as well. The Michaelin starred places in Tokyo are known for their special lunches. Visit a local market and pack a picnic I love doing this, especially in a foreign country. Even in a place like Russia, I was able to buy food on the Trans Siberian Railway platforms in various small towns in Russia. Just don't buy the cheap vodka!!! Read reviews Good advice, but also try to read between the lines. Just because a place is called "touristy" does not mean the food is bad or too expensive. Another piece of advice: I subscribe to the local paper (online, of course) a few months before going. Take a food tour or cooking class I have enjoyed some fantastic food tours, in places like Mexico City, Hanoi (on the back of a moto), St. Petersburg (Russia), Rio, and Sydney. Never underestimate street food Some of my best meals have been discovered in food trucks, roadside stands, and "mom and pop" shops. In remote areas, this might be your only choice! Again, find the longest line and you will find the freshest food. And I added one more: The dreaded food courts I have found some great food courts, in places like Honolulu, Chiang Mai (Thailand), Mallorca (Spain), Washington, DC, Mexico City, Penang (Malaysia), Singapore, Buenos Aires, and Munich. One huge advantage I have as a solo wanderer, is that I can eat whenever and wherever I want. Or if you are so fortunate to travel with Mr. Mike, he has already discovered the best places!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.424s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 39; qc: 155; dbt: 0.2743s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb