The Weatherman Dictates


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens » Pláka
October 6th 2021
Published: September 29th 2021
Edit Blog Post

October in Europe is generally a great place to visit, assuming the weather is still good, in spite of global warming. Most everywhere in southern Europe is still nice. But northern Europe, where I want to visit, is getting quite cold. Highs are in the 50s, lows in the 30s, and about half the days are rainy. Best of all, tourists are gone! But since I want nice weather, I am headed south again, to Athens. Why? I have friends there now, plus the weather and food are the best.When I was last in Athens in May, I experienced a big heat wave. It kept me from my normal activities, like walking the city, seeing the famous historical sites, cycling, and satisfying my curiosity about this great city. October will be better in every way, as it is pretty much everywhere but northern Europe. I was thinking Scandinavia, and perhaps Estonia, Latvia, or Lithuania. Maybe next time.One important fact I must mention is that Europeans, and particularly Greeks follow the covid rules. They mask, social distance, and observe all of the covid related rules. Most importantly, they vaccinated as soon as possible. Why can't we do the same thing back in the US, and some of the rest of the world?I considered a few other places, like Slovenia, Slovakia, even down south to my buddy, Barry the V in Cape Town. But Greece kept calling my name. My good friends, Chris and Paul just returned from a cycling trip through Portugal and Spain. I had the chance to join them, and I now regret not going. And I can't wait until my travel buddy, Mr. Mike is able to travel again.For those of you who might wonder if I go back to countries for visits: I tend to revisit countries in SE Asia quite often. Places like Bangkok, Hanoi, Siem Reap, and Penang. So, why not in Europe? I enjoyed Greece immensely, I know it is safe, and there are some things that were left "undone" so to speak.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0216s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb