Gibraltar, UK!


Advertisement
Gibraltar's flag
Europe » Gibraltar
February 18th 2012
Published: February 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday my program took us on a 2.5 hour bus ride to Gibraltar. Gibraltar is technically a part of the UK, so now I can officially tell people I've been to the UK!

Anyway, I think Gibraltar has been my favorite trip thus far. At the tip of Gibraltar there is a giant rock, and if you drive or climb to the top you get a terrrific view of the Mediterranean Sea, the Atlantic Ocean, and Africa! It wasn't super sunny out yesterday, but it was still clear enough to see Morrocco. It was a pretty cool feeling, standing on top of the rock and feeling like you could see half the world.

Also on this rock there is a cave with an amphitheater in it, which was pretty cool, and tunnels that they used back in the day when Gibraltar was under a siege.

But the highlight of the trip for me was easily the monkeys. On the top of the rock are wild monkeys which will come right up to you and even jump on you if they think they can get food. I've never touched a monkey before, so I was pretty excited. There were big old dad monkeys, baby monkeys, mommy monkeys, and mommy monkeys with baby monkeys. My obsession with monkeys means that I took a bunch of pictures yesterday, and yes, some of them were of the view and whatnot, but a large majority of them were with monkeys. I definitely got a picture with a monkey on my head. I would talk more about the monkeys, but I think that seeing the pictures is more interesting.

On another note, my friends whom I set up as Valentines came out to the bar with me 2 nights ago. Well, one thing led to another and they ended up making out in the middle of the bar ALL NIGHT. Literally, they were just making out for hours. It was actaully quite the show. Then he walked her home last night. Love is in the airrrrr.

Tonight I'm going to Cadiz for that Carnival, so it's going to be a long night. I should really take a nap because I got home at 4 a.m. last night and was up by 10 ish today, so I should probably catch up on some sleep.

Hopefully I'll survive Carnival!

Ciao!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb