Hamburg and a bit of berlin


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
July 27th 2017
Published: July 31st 2017
Edit Blog Post

After Munich I decided to go to Berlin for a day to sort of make up for the things I missed when I was there first. The first thing I decided to do was take some time to enjoy Alexanderplatz and its surround areas. I also needed to get some soveniers so I decided to take this time to buy some stuff for all my friends and family. Ofcourse I had been picking up small gifts here and there throughout my trip. After a good exploration and gift shopping I left my things at a friend’s house and headed to Hamburg.



Hamburg was one of the most interesting cities I have been to. I arrived late at night so the next day I got up bright and early and headed to a free walking tour that was being offered by the hostel I was staying in. The walking tour was quite informative. We started in the at the city center where the oldest building in hamburg was located. This building now is a city hall and has really interesting history behind it. I was burned a few times throughout history but it still looks great. Then the tour took us though the center of city where we saw a couple of old churches, homes that were once used as ware houses and many of the 2300 bridges that are in Hamburg. During the tour we stopped at a few cafes that were on the canals that ran through out Hamburg. My favorite one was the Eis waffen café. They had some amazing gelto here. After the cafes we went to the harbor and this is where the walking tour ended.



After the walking tour a few people I met on the tour and I decided to continue exploring the harbor. First we went to the most interesting building in Hamburg. This was the Elbphilharmonie. It was a pretty interesting building that houses one of the most interesting opera houses in the world. The building itself took about 500 million Euros to build. About 425 million Euros over budget is what I was told. The windows on the building each cost about 20 thousand Euros each and were hand crafted in Italy. They have an opening in them that helps the building keep cool without having to use air conditioning. The entrance was free to the building and you get to ride on the longest escalader in Europe. Which you don’t realize until you get to the top. Once we got to the top we walked around the balcony that lets you see almost the entire city of hamburg. It was quite a view. After seeing the prices at the café in the elbphilhamonie we decided to head to the harbor for some food and drinks. After lunch we decided to jump on the public ferries that went across the river and do our own sight seeing. The ferry ride was pretty awesome. It cost us 3 euros and it was as good as the ones you pay 30 euros for. We could google the names of building we saw by description and it was one of the best afternoons I have had in Germany. We headed back to our hostels after and called it a day. The night I spent hanging out with some friends I made in the hostel who were there from south korea. It was fun hanging out with them because it brought back great memories to when I was an exchange student in Korea.



The next was spent just exploring more part of the city and getting some gifts for friends. I also had an old friend from school that lived there so we went for a coffee and caught up. He had been living there for a few years. He is from Colorado so it was interesting talking to him on how he was able to move to Germany. It was also interesting talking to him about the G20 incident that took place about a couple of weeks prior. After a great afternoon I went back to my hostel grabbed my things and headed back to berlin because the next day I flew back home!!.


Additional photos below
Photos: 55, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb