Town of the Rose & Happy Birthday to me


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Schleswig-Holstein
October 11th 2009
Published: October 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone,
today is my birthday and it feels very strange. I usually have plans to throw myself out of planes, drive Bigfoot vehicles over clapped out police cars, travel to some far distant place to spot an Albratross - or well at least put on some high heels and hit the dancefloor for the night, but today has been very quiet.

As I mentioned previosly I am currently visiting family in Germany - my big sister Heidi and her two boys Kieren & Liam. Unfortunately the boys are heading to England today for a two week holiday with their Nana, so Heidi has to drive them to the Airport in Hannover.
As I really didnt feel like spending my Birthday on the motorway I opted to put on my wet weather gear and go for a long bikeride in the nearby forest.

But first I was treated to a slap up brunch at my sisters boyfriends new restaurant 'The Tower' - check it out if your in the area - they don't mind the odd veggie turning up either. (Although as a vegan I had to bring my own Soya Butter haha)
The Tower is situated directly by a small airfield - with lots of Cessna's and small mosquito heli's.

Best plans and all that, the bike turned out to have a puncture, so I decided to walk to the forest instead. Its called 'Langes Tannen' which means long pinetree., although it is a mixed forest. I have lots of memories of playing by the lakes, caves and exploring the wildlife from my childhood there.

It was a lovely walk and I even managed not to get wet, although a rare red squirral that crossed my path just would not sit still for a pic so you'll just have to believe me on that one.
I also lost my gloves along the way, but after re-tracing my steps found then again.

After the forest; I took a walk through theĀ“Rosarium' a Botanic Rose Garden situated in central Uetersen - famous for its stunning roses. Uetersen is actually named 'The town of The Rose'. The whole place is covered in them and they smell incredible at this time of year.

It is now 5 in the afternoon and I fully intend to cook myself a yummy dinner and then spend the rest of the day on the sofa reading my new birthday present books.

Thank you for all the flowers, cards and pressie's by the way!!!
Hope your all keeping well...
Speak soon xxxd






Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0688s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb