Beach days


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Schleswig-Holstein » Wenningstedt
August 8th 2014
Published: August 8th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Germany's a convenient country to visit, I must say. First off, for being so far north, it's surprisingly temperate (likely due to its proximity to the ocean). However, they also almost all speak English, which makes it slightly less awkward for Samii and me as we scramble our way through the days.







On the flip side, the amount of volleyball I'm playing has helped me learn a few things: I'm pretty good with the numbers now, and can say things like "sorry," "mine," etc. Things that are important to know for sports. Despite the language barrier, the team I play with seems to like me and as a team we work well together. Olympics, watch out!







The bike ride to the beach was also much easier today. I don't know whether the wind was lighter or if I knew that I was getting myself into a 20 mile round trip ride this time. Regardless, I do enjoy the beach we go to and I suppose I can't complain about the exercise I get on my way there.







Unfortunately for my avid readers, though, there is not much to report, since we spend from immediately after breakfast until about10:00 pmat the beach. However, I can discuss the food, since there's a good restaurant there. Important news: I had schnitzel! It tastes like breaded chicken, but it's important to have when I'm in Germany, I suppose. I also ate kaiserschmarrn (good luck pronouncing that...), which can be best compared to fried dough. It's a popular desert dish that is WAY MORE FILLING than you think it's going to be. I definitely needed the exercise of the ride home.







In the little bits of down time I do find, I'm finishing off my essays for the Dialogue, which are due on Tuesday.




Sunday morning, Samii and I leave Sylt to head to Barcelona, so I'll definitely take advantage of that travel time to try to bang out the bits I'm missing. The hostel there will definitely be a change of pace from the relaxed nature of the house and island here, but I suppose the beauty of this trip is the range of experiences!




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.301s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0795s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb